My Ramblings · Updates

From Sixth Form Student to University Student: A Journey Begins

Long time, no speak! I’m back, rejuvenated and relaxed, ready to review once more!

The last time I posted, I told you all that I was taking a hiatus in order to sit my exams. Having received the results, I am thrilled to be able to tell you all that I passed, and I am indeed off to the University of East Anglia in a few weeks to study American Literature with Creative Writing. I am over the moon! A new journey has begun, and I am hoping to be able to share bits and pieces of it on here as I immerse myself in the life of being a university student. As I will be working more on my own creative writing, there may be a few snippets that I will share on here throughout my course, as a means of gaining more critique for my work. Don’t be shy – feel free to give me some advice with it! Another exciting piece of news that comes with this is that I will be taking a year abroad in the USA or Canada in the third year of my course, so there are many more exciting adventures to come for me, both on this side of the pond and across it!

I have had many, many review requests since I have been away, and no, I am not ignoring you! I am just getting back into the swing of reviewing, and will hopefully be back in touch with you all soon so I can review your works!

Since I was studying for my exams, I did not get much reading done, but what I did read was very good indeed. Quick mentions to ‘The Girl on the Train’ by Paula Hawkins, a thoroughly enjoyable psychological thriller/mystery that I awarded 4.25 stars, and especially ‘Everyday Sexism’ by Laura Bates, an incredibly powerful insight into sexism and inequality in the modern world which I would ask everyone to read.

That’s all for now, but I look forward to writing and reviewing once again, as well as talking to all of you lovely people who read my posts, reading all of yours, and maybe bringing you all on a little journey with me as I share the adventures I am about to undertake.

Emma

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com), Facebook (www.facebook.com/emdoesbookreviews) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

7 thoughts on “From Sixth Form Student to University Student: A Journey Begins

    1. Thanks! And best of luck with your application – a few tips (I’m sure you don’t need them but still):
      1. DON’T WORRY! You are a lot more likely to get offers than you think you are – I panicked so much about whether I would get accepted anywhere, and it was completely counterproductive!
      2. If you have an interview or portfolio, or even just doing a personal statement, be confident in it! I had to write a portfolio and I spent so long going round in circles worrying about whether it would be good enough! You wouldn’t be applying if you didn’t think you could do it, so bear that in mind – you can do it!
      3. Do not panic if you drop a grade or two on your offer – I didn’t get my offer exactly and I am still going to my favourite uni!
      I wish you all the best x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

