Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters Everyone Loves But I Hate

Happy Tuesday! It is time for Top Ten Tuesday, as ever created by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is ‘Ten Characters Everyone Loves But You Do Not Get’. As a rather hateful person (I joke…) this topic is right up my street. I am known for having some unconventional views, especially on characters I strongly dislike, so I have my answers ready and waiting for this topic! Also, it wouldn’t be an ‘Emma rant’ without me accidentally-on-purpose using more than ten characters by grouping some together, so look out for that! As I am fairly sure I have mentioned my hatred for all of these before, no long-winded passages, rants or explanations this time.

TrisPrior

  • Tris Prior, ‘Divergent’ by Veronica Roth – My tied all-time least favourite character. Selfish, hypocritical, and I genuinely cannot think of a single decision she makes that I do not abhor.
  • Warner and Juliette, ‘Shatter Me’ by Tahereh Mafi – I heard going in to this book that Juliette develops into an amazing, strong heroine and that Warner is many people’s all-time favourite fictional boyfriend. I found Juliette to be pathetic and Warner to be perverted and incredibly problematic.
  • *BOOK* Finnick Odair, ‘The Hunger Games’ by Suzanne Collins – I absolutely adored how Finnick was characterised in the films, but reading the books, I loathed the guy; cocky, arrogant, a tragic back-story that is meant to excuse appalling behaviour… he embodied the qualities I hate most in fictional characters.
  • Eleanor, ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell – There are actually more similarities between Eleanor and I than I care to admit, which only made me realise exactly how badly she handled everything.
  • Bellamy Blake, ‘The 100’ by Kass Morgan – I can’t speak for the show as I do not watch it (nor do I intend to) but in the books, Bellamy is the epitome of the hot, troubled bad boy love interest – the trope that makes up most of the characters on this list. I was much more interested in Luke and Glass’s story and relationship, or even Wells’s, than Clarke and Bellamy’s.
  • Noah Shaw, ‘The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer’ by Michelle Hodkin – He is always bigged up as the perfect love interest, but as well as having the rude-cocky-bad-boy edge, he truly did nothing but look pretty for the entire novel – his purpose was to be Mara’s love interest, and he had no role away from that.
  • Rowan Whitethorn, ‘Throne of Glass’ by Sarah J. Maas – Aggressive, moody, rude, arrogant bad-boy… I see a theme in my choices… Clearly other people really dig this character trope but it is honestly my least favourite YA book feature of all time.
  • Adrian Ivashkov, ‘Vampire Academy’ by Richelle Mead – As above, but add in entitlement and clinginess. Admittedly I cannot say how he develops in ‘Bloodlines’, as I have not started that series.
  • Prince Maxon, ‘The Selection’ by Kiera Cass – When it comes to hated characters for this series, most people state Aspen. I could tolerate Aspen as I understood where he was coming from. Alongside the actually-rather-unpopular heroine America, it was Maxon I hated the most. He did have the entitled-prince-complex I dislike, as well as messing with the girls’ heads. For someone who seemingly didn’t like the competition all that much, he sure did have fun toying with the competitors…
  • Jace Wayland, Clary Fray, Will Herondale and Tessa Gray (as well as a fair few other characters), ‘The Mortal Instruments’ and ‘The Infernal Devices’ (respectively) by Cassandra Clare – Most of you know that I have a serious love-hate thing with Cassandra Clare’s characters. I adore Alec, Simon, Magnus, Isabelle, Gideon, Henry, Sophie, Charlotte… all those characters who actually behaved like tolerable people and who had scope for brilliant characterisation (naturally all of which happening off-page), but it is her heroes and heroines that I truly despise. Clary and Tessa, the series protagonists respectively, are nasty, selfish, and treat people in horrid ways, and love interests Jace and Will are all of the above, in addition to the perfect-arrogant-troubled-bad-boy trope, treating their best friends like dirt, thinking that cockiness can serve as a replacement for all other shows of emotion, and having an inflated sense of their own superiority. To top it all off, all four are completely idolised and made to be rather attractive people. Incidentally, Will is the character who ties with Tris Prior as my least favourite fictional character of all time…

Jace and Clary Shadowhunters Promo Shot.jpg

…I failed at not ranting, didn’t I?

NOTE TO SELF – Look for more synonyms for the words ‘cocky’ and ‘arrogant’.

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com), Facebook (www.facebook.com/emdoesbookreviews) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters Everyone Loves But I Hate

  1. I agree with Tris and Juliette. Although I like the prospect of a female protagonist these two were the. absolute. worst. I get that they were trying to prove themselves but they were just annoying and came off as whiny. I could say the same for Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games though.

    Anyway, my friend and I just started our blog where we review books and beauty products because we have an unhealthy obsession with both. We’d love if you could check out our blog and let us know what you think!

    XX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you on Tris and the Cassandra Clare heroes. Adrian I kinda liked though not as a love interest. But the type of character you seem to hate (the ‘bad boy’ everyone wants and fuck common sense) is something I loathe as well so I have a feeling I’d agree with all these choices.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, he functions better as the quirky comic relief with occasional depth… I stopped reading Bloodlines after book2 and none of it is really memorable so I can’t comment on that either.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I feel ya. In my case, Rose and Dimitri were what I loved most about VA. Take them out of the equation and it’s just not as interesting. I didn’t exactly hate Bloodlines but nothing about it felt worth sticking around for.

        Like

Leave a Reply

