Wrap-Ups and Readathons

February 2016 – My Reading Month in Review

It’s March!

Well, it has been for 8 days, it’s just that I’ve had laryngitis and have spent a week and a half curled up in a ball doing nothing and forgetting the world existed, so I’ve barely noticed time passing. Anyway, I’m back in the game now (croaky voice and all) and I’ve been thinking about everything I read and reviewed in the month just passed. I can’t properly welcome in March without sufficiently concluding February!

Let’s start with the obvious question…

How many books did I read in February?

I read 8 books in February. Some of these were impulse reads, some of them I had intended to read for a while, and some were on my must-read list for the year. I even had one review request.

What did I read, and how did I rate it?
  • ‘The Kiss of Deception’ by Mary E. Pearson – 4.5 stars, rounded to 5. Review here.
  • ‘The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories’ by Marina Keegan – 3.5 stars, rounded to 4. Review here.
  • ‘A Tale of Mist and Shadow’ by M.R. Laver – 3 stars. Review here.
  • ‘Bridge to Terabithia’ by Katherine Paterson – 4 stars. Review here.
  • ‘Pure Dead Magic’ by Debi Gliori – 3 stars. Review here.
  • ‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes – 4.25 stars, rounded to 4. Review here.
  • ‘The Reason I Jump’ by Naoki Higashida – 4 stars. Review here.
  • ‘Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda’ by Becky Albertalli – 4.75 stars, rounded to 5. Review here.
What was my book of the month?

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda - Beck Albertalli

For the whole month it looked like the first book I read in February, ‘The Kiss of Deception’ by Mary E. Pearson, was going to be my book of the month. It transpired that my book of the month ended up being not the first but the last book I read, ‘Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda’ by Becky Albertalli. I completely fell in love with this book, and not only was it my reading highlight of the month, it is actually a new favourite.

What am I currently reading, and what is next?

I am not currently reading that much due to study pressures, but I hope to finish ‘The Winner’s Curse’ by Marie Rutkoski as I have borrowed it from a friend. I am also aiming to finish ‘Tuesdays with Morrie’ and ‘The Five People You Meet in Heaven’ by Mitch Albom, ‘The L-Shaped Room’ by Lynne Reid Banks, and ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell. I might pick up new release ‘Lady Midnight’ by Cassandra Clare for the sole purpose of reviewing it, but I am not keen: I have outgrown her work, have realised in hindsight how many issues I have with her books (and her), and am actually not interested in her world away from the ‘Mortal Instruments’ characters, but I  cannot pretend that I am not in the slightest bit curious.

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com), Facebook (www.facebook.com/emdoesbookreviews) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

3 thoughts on “February 2016 – My Reading Month in Review

Leave a Reply

