Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Were Out Of My Comfort Zone

Happy Tuesday, all! Hope it’s been a good one for you so far…

Top Ten Tuesday is, as always, the creation of The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is ‘top ten books I enjoyed recently that weren’t my typical genre/were out of my comfort zone’, with recently equating to the past year. I like to think of myself as being willing to read anything, which means that my ‘comfort zone’ is pretty large, but I’ve just about been able to scrape ten. I think the biggest genre outside of my comfort zone is romance/erotica novels, which I rarely read (actually I haven’t read any erotica!) but I’ve been rather liberal with what I consider to be ‘outside of my comfort zone’ in order to get ten – for example, choosing genres that I do read yet are not maybe my first choice, or anything which is not my stereotypical fantasy/sci-fi/YA/popular literary fiction choices.

The Wicked + The Divine - Kieron Gillen

  • ‘The Wicked and the Divine Volume 1: The Faust Act’ by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie – I have never been a big reader of graphic novels/comic books, and yet when I read this one back in January, I really enjoyed it. It sparked a want to read more of the genre, which I had previously not ventured into. Read my review here.
  • ‘The Lady in the Van’ by Alan Bennett – An autobiographical short story by Alan Bennett about a homeless lady who parks her van outside his house, this lovely story is not necessarily of a genre I avoid, it is just that I do not read all that much autobiographical stuff, and yet this stood out to me when I read it in December.
  • ‘Bridget Jones’s Diary’ by Helen Fielding – Rom-coms are never my go-to in books, movies or TV, and yet when I read this last summer, I truly did enjoy it. I must finish watching the film, as I have never seen it the whole way through.
  • ‘The Alchemist’ by Paulo Coelho – I’m not entirely sure why I categorise this as ‘out of my comfort one’ but it just seemed like the kind of thing I would not typically have read when I finished this one last year (my tastes have changed since and perhaps this is now more my thing). I adored most of the book, although there was one part that started chipping away at my Goodreads rating.
  • ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen – A classic love story. I was so adamant before I read this (for an exam) that I would hate it, as it is the epitome of what is out of my comfort zone. I started it, stopped, realised I had to read it ASAP, and found it becoming one of my favourites of 2015.
  • ‘The Selection’ by Kiera Cass – Before reading this one, I was certain that it simply was not my thing. I knew that the dystopian setting was a deception, and that it was more than anything a romance focused on princes and pretty dresses. My friend made me read it, and I was pleasantly surprised: I did enjoy it. I read all three of the original trilogy in a week, and while it went downhill with every book, I did still quite like the first.
  • ‘Death of a Salesman’ by Arthur Miller – I’m in two minds about American literature of this variety, which makes sweeping judgements the society across the early-mid 20th century: ‘Of Mice and Men’ and ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ are two of my favourites, and yet I detest ‘The Great Gatsby’. Having previously read Miller’s ‘The Crucible’ and loved it, I suppose it is not all that much of a surprise that I enjoyed this, but I was sceptical given that sometimes, this kind of story falls flat for me.
  • ‘The Awakening’ by Kate Chopin – An 1899 American feminist novel, this is not really my typical holiday read, and yet I truly did enjoy it when I read it in Greece last summer.
  • ‘The Russian Revolution: History in an Hour’ by Rupert Colley – While I adore history and historical texts and memoirs, rarely do I sit down and read a whole non-fiction history text cover to cover – I dip in and out. So to have read the entirety of this one and enjoyed it was a new experience in a way. Read my review here.
  • ‘Shaking Hands with Death’ by Terry Pratchett – Now, I love reading essays and other people’s view on the world, but it was only because of this that I started to get into them. This very emotional and moving speech on the right to die and Alzheimer’s is a (very short) must-read.

Shaking Hands with Death - Terry Pratchett

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com), Facebook (www.facebook.com/emdoesbookreviews) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Were Out Of My Comfort Zone

  1. The Lady in the Van! I haven’t read it, but I desperately want to see the movie they made which has Maggie Smith in it! The movie looks hilarious. And The Selection series… the books really aren’t that good, but they’re addicting, kind of like mediocre chocolate that you just have to finish anyway. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really want to watch the Lady in the Van movie as well! It is on at a local cinema at the moment, and I am rather tempted…
      I rather enjoyed the first Selection book, as while is isn’t very good, it was kinda cutesy and – as you said – addictive. They went swiftly downhill after that, though. I suppose the novelty wore off. Despite really not being enamoured by it, I finished the whole series in a matter of days, something I never do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

