Page 394

Page 394 – February 2016

‘Turn to page three hundred and ninety-four.’

~Severus Snape, ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’

Most people are familiar with this legendary Severus Snape line. Novelcraftings has gone a step further, and created a meme in honour of the fantastic Alan Rickman, who passed away on the 14th January. The challenge is simple: turn to page 394 of either your current read, or a favourite one, find a passage or quote you love, and share it in a blog post, on the 14th of every month. I know what you are saying; today is the 15th. Typically, I only saw this one this morning over at Addlepates and Book Nerds, but the 15th is close enough I suppose, and I didn’t want to wait a month! Next time I promise to post on time!

page-394.gif

I am currently reading ‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes, but I am only 200 pages in and do not want to spoil myself. For that reason, I am going to choose a favourite book for today’s Page 394, and what’s better than the place it originated, the ‘Harry Potter’ series. I was aiming to go with its book of origin, ‘The Prisoner of Azkaban’, but that only has 300-odd pages, so I went with the first in the series long enough to use, ‘The Goblet of Fire’.

“Really, Hagrid, if you are holding out for universal popularity, I’m afraid you will be in this cabin for a very long time. Not a week has passed, since I became headmaster of this school, when I haven’t had at least one owl complaining about the way I run it. But what should I do? Barricade myself in my study and refuse to talk to anybody?”

Albus Dumbledore, Page 394, ‘Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire’ by J.K. Rowling

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

16 thoughts on “Page 394 – February 2016

  1. I love that this became a meme, thank you for sharing both the meme and your snippet for it! I love the message it’s sooo awesome!! (huge HP nerd over here, lol)
    Okay, enough of my squealling, will leave, once I read quote once more….. *goes back to reread*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

