Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – Top Books I Was Spoiled For

Happy Wednesday everyone! It has been far too long since I did this!

Today’s Top 5 Wednesday category is ‘Top 5 Books You Were Spoiled For.’ I don’t mind all that much about being spoiled, as normally I am my own downfall, as I go hunting for information. Most of this list is not someone else ruining the end for me, but me ruining it for myself. Even so, I think finding 5 is a little bit tricky – even though I take no care over avoiding spoilers, I still always end up missing them. I have managed to scrape 5 tentative answers, so here we go:

5. ‘Allegiant’ by Veronica Roth

allegiant-uk-cover-veronica-roth-1

Those of you who’ve read it will know what I was spoiled for! This is the book I always see mentioned in answer to this question, and it is a massive spoiler. I found this one out as I had no intention to read the series, read the reviews on Amazon (spoiling myself) then decided to read it anyway. Despite the size of the spoiler, this one is only at number 5 as I truly did not care. I detest this series, and when I found out said spoiler, I celebrated the outcome rather than be annoyed that I knew the end.

4. ‘The Lovely Bones’ by Alice Sebold

thelovelybones

The first of the list that I spoiled myself for. I’m not sure exactly how much this one counts, but I did watch the movie before I read the book. I’m glad I did in the end, as I actually prefer the movie, but at the time it was obviously a stupid move of me.

3. ‘Mockingjay’ by Suzanne Collins

mockingjay

Another one that was entirely my fault. I had just finished watching the first ‘Hunger Games’ movie with my friends, and it was the first exposure I had had to the series. I had decided to read it, and yet still managed to read a Google review for the whole series, ruining parts of the series for myself before I had even started it.

2. The ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ Series by Rick Riordan

Where this one is involved, we are not talking large spoilers, rather little bits and bobs. I was reading this around the same time as my best friend, and for the first 3 books she was ahead of me as she started first. She kept on mentioning little parts or trying to talk about it in code so it didn’t spoil me, but a few little bits got out.

1. ‘City of Heavenly Fire’ by Cassandra Clare

9781442416895_email-1-265x400

My ultimate spoiling-myself moment. All the way through the series, my best friend slightly spoiled me and I slightly spoiled her in return, but this was our lowest moment for book spoiling. Her and I were certain that one of our favourite characters was going to die in this book, and being in the UK, our release day was the day after the US and there was no guarantee our pre-orders would be delivered on release day. For this reason, I found the PDF file online and we read the end together the day before UK release, to ensure none of our favourites died. It was wrong and traumatic, but ultimately satisfying.

There we have it. 5 books I was spoiled for (see: spoiled myself for.) As always, Top 5 Wednesdays was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, and you can find the Goodreads group here to join in with the fun. Have a fantastic rest of the week, all!

*QUICK WARNING: As you’d expect with the topic of spoilers, the comments box for this post currently contains spoilers for ‘Allegiant’ by Veronica Roth, and Cassandra Clare’s ‘Mortal Instruments’ series. Take note – I don’t want anyone accidentally getting spoiled!*

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

35 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Top Books I Was Spoiled For

  1. Oh no! Spoilers are the absolute worst! Right now, I’m trying to avoid the internet because I won’t be able to read Glass Sword until I go home for Spring Break next month. I accidentally sent it to my house and not my school, oops.

    I’m so sorry you were spoiled for Allegiant, Mockingjay, and City of Heavenly Fire… those in particular, All the feels.I was spoiled for Allegiant, too, and it was actually a teacher that did it – it was horrible.

    I hope the rest of your reading days are spoiler free ❤ as they should be.

    Also, your blog is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That must be the worst, knowing that ‘Glass Sword’ is waiting for you! I’m not the kind of person who gets frustrated or upset when I end up encountering spoilers, so I don’t mind them too much personally. Why is it everyone was spoiled for ‘Allegiant’? 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s torture XD I loved Red Queen so much and I hate having to wait for it. I’m inpatient when it comes to book sequels 😝

        I think everyone was spoiled for Allegiant because everyone was so upset that they kept talking about it and venting on the Internet : )

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so bad at staying away from spoilers. Usually I don’t go looking for then but if someone drops a hint to tease me I’ll usually end up googling it later that day because I’m way too curious. I’ve spoiled many a series for myself this way…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It is! Although the whole way through the series, I do not like Clary or Jace, so I was never truly invested in their romance. My enjoyment of ‘The Mortal Instruments’ came from Alec, Magnus, and later Izzy and Simon, and not from Clary or Jace.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

