Updates

Sunday 10th January – Weekly Update

Hi all! Hope you’re well!

This week I finished my first read of 2016 – comic book ‘The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1: The Faust Act’ by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie. It was a fab way to start the year, and if you want to know what I thought of it, you can find my review here. In short, it wasn’t perfect, but it was a damn good opener that made me desperate to continue!

I am currently reading Harper Lee’s ‘Go Set a Watchman’. My current thought are… underwhelming. I’ve been approaching this in two mindsets – as a novel in its individual right, and also as an original draft of ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ (there is no point addressing it as a sequal, as despite its branding, it is in no way a sequel) and in both instances, it does not create a favourable response. What I will say in its favour is that it does provide an interesting insight into the development of ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ in an almost unprecedented way – to have a published early draft of a novel which developed so far is rare.

I have also switched the books I’ve drawn from my TBR jar, which no longer reflects all the books on my shelf as I’ve failed at updating it – oops. Anyway, the latest draws are ‘The Memory Book’ by Rowan Coleman, ‘On the Road’ by Jack Kerouac, Margaret Mitchell’s ‘Gone With the Wind’ and George Eliot’s ‘The Mill on the Floss’. I hope to actually get around to these (despite the length of one or two of them) as I feel they’re a really beneficial and varied selection.

That’s all for this week – I hope you all have a lovely week and I’ll be back with my ‘Go Set a Watchman’ review in the next couple of days.

Emma 🙂

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

2 thoughts on “Sunday 10th January – Weekly Update

  1. The Wicked + the Divine is definitely not a favorite graphic novel series of mine, but the art is fabulous, so I mainly keep reading it for that. It’s confusing as heck, though… And I don’t think I’ll ever read Go Set a Watchman. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorite classics, if not my favorite, and I don’t want to ruin anything about it by reading Go Set a Watchman, of which I’ve heard extremely mixed and even negative things about. :-/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely agree on ‘Go Set a Watchman’. I’m reading it as I feel an obligation to given its importance in publishing, however it definitely taints TKaM. I’m distancing the two in my mind so as not to taint TKaM too much (as I do love it). I’ve found my liking of TKaM is not impacted but my feelings towards Harper Lee and the brilliance of her anti-racism statement in TKaM definitely has been. I’d recommend avoiding it if you want to preserve your feelings on TKaM. Besides, it is just a bit boring!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

