My Ramblings · Updates

My Hopes For 2016

I hate the term ‘resolutions’. Firstly, I never keep them, and secondly, the word refers by definition to a firm decision of what to do or not do, and when the new year has just begun, I don’t want to be firmly committing to a decision over something, I want to start new with endless opportunities rather than inhibiting myself. For that reason, I’m not going to challenge myself to do anything in particular this year, but there are a few things I would like to do (yet probably won’t!)

The first thing I would like to do more of this year is watching films and TV shows. I’ve never been a big ‘film’ person, and my TV show watching is limited to sitcoms and panel shows. However, this Christmas I got the Game of Thrones series 1-4 box set (which I am enjoying immensely *cough* more than the book *cough*) and I have recently decided to sign up for Netflix, so I have access to a lot more films and TV shows than I did before. There are obviously a lot of cult TV shows with a huge following that I feel I should have enjoyed by now, and my film classics knowledge is pretty thin on the ground, so I need educating! You may have noticed the new tabs on my menu for TV reviews and other miscellaneous reviews, and I am planning to branch out my reviews to more than just books and the occasional film.

What with starting university in September (hopefully!) I feel like now is the time to do all those things I want to have done before the next stage of my life. I have a long summer break starting in June, and I have no plans to go away, so I have a lot of time to just enjoy myself. I might save up to go and see a play at the West End, go on a day trip to the beach or even pop over to France. I want to power through all the many books on my shelf that I have not read, and go to the cinema more. One thing I know for certain is that I want to make that time worthwhile. The last time I had a long summer (2014), half of it was wasted as I had an operation that had me immobile for 6 weeks, so I never made the most of having all that time free. This year, I want to embrace it.

I also fully intend to learn how to cook this year! I have recently acquired a lovely set of student cookbooks, and I feel now is the time I finally need to become more self-sufficient! It’ll take a while (my current limit is probably pasta, although I can make some pretty good cakes and biscuits) and hopefully I won’t cause a fire, but it’ll be totally worthwhile come September!

I would love to spend more time writing. What with my firm uni course being ‘English Literature with Creative Writing’, I need to get back into the swing of writing as a hobby! I’ve been a touch out of practise recently, so it is my priority to get working on it. I’d also like to start regularly posting snippets on here. I posted my short story ‘The Last Voyage’ on here last year, before removing it to enter into a competition and submit in my uni application portfolio. Now that is over

I think that is all I have in mind for 2016! Of course I’m tempted to say ‘I will read 200 books’ or ‘I will post a review every week’ but we all know that is 95% certainly not going to happen, especially around exams. For the first time in my life I’d like to be impulsive, and just go with the flow instead of constraining myself to targets and deadlines.

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

 

2 thoughts on “My Hopes For 2016

Leave a Reply

