Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – Top Books You Read in One Sitting

Happy Wednesday all! This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is ‘Books You Read in One Sitting’. Now, I am a speedy reader, and have read a lot of books in one sitting, so this one was a hard one to whittle down to five; also, I am prone to forgetting which books I read all in one go, so there are a lot of cases where I am uncertain on whether they qualify! Anyway, I finally have five, so may the list begin!

5. ‘The Silver Linings Playbook’ by Matthew Quick

thesilverliningsplaybook

This was actually my most recent read; I finished this last week (it has been a bad reading week for me, I know). I started this one quite late in the afternoon, and was still up reading it in the early hours of the morning. It is quite short and quick to read, and I really, really enjoyed it.

4. ‘The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas’ by John Boyne

theboyinthestripedpyjamas

The only time I put this book down, I think, was when I was crying too much to see the words in front of me! One of my favourite books (and films, actually), this one is a very small book which is very easy to literally read, but provides a bit of an emotional rollercoaster along the way.

3. ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green

thefaultinourstars

I read this one in a day, both waiting for my hospital appointment and on the train home (which was a big mistake; I shall never read a sad book on public transport again). While my love for it has faded with all of the better books I have read over the course of the past year, I will always feel strongly about this one for getting me back into reading after a three-year drought.

2. ‘One Breath Away’ by Heather Gudenkauf

onebreathaway

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned this one on here before… correct me if I’m wrong. I read this in a day when on holiday in Norfolk last year, and thought it was very thought-provoking and emotional (sadder or more miserable books seem to be a theme on this list).

1. ‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

Both of the Rainbow Rowell books I have read, I flew through in one sitting (in the case of ‘Eleanor and Park’ owing to the size, not my enjoyment). ‘Fangirl’, however, was one of my favourite reads of last year. I read it whilst in hospital recovering from surgery; maybe the fact I couldn’t move contributed to why I read it all so fast, but generally, I thought it was very fast-paced.

There we have it. As always, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey – check out the Goodreads group to join in!

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince).

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Top Books You Read in One Sitting

Leave a Reply

