Discussions and Tags

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll know that I like moaning about books almost as much as I like raving about them. So when I came across this tag, I decided that I just had to do it; I’ve not been tagged, but then again, I never am, I just do these anyway! I have done many rant-y posts, and have mentioned most of these answers before, so to stop sounding like a stuck record, I’m not going to go into depth about any answers here. I’m just going to show you my answers and give a little bit of a reason.

I’m probably going to choose something you adore, so please, please don’t hate me! And a final warning: THIS WILL BE A BIT RANT-Y. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

A POPULAR BOOK/SERIES YOU DIDN’T LIKE

Behold, the gallery of photos of books I hate that everyone else adores (I don’t think there’s any surprises in here if you’ve read my Grinch Tag from last winter). I’m not going to go into these; I’ve mentioned it all before.

divergent shattermemockingjayclockworkangeleleanorandparktheunbecomingofmaradyer

A BOOK/SERIES YOU LOVE BUT EVERYONE SEEMS TO HATE

the100

Obviously, this applies solely to the books, as everyone seems to love the TV show, but I really enjoyed the book series of ‘The 100’. Okay, it isn’t technically mind-blowing or unique, but I was immersed in the world, I loved most of the characters and I thought the third book was incredibly satisfying. I know a lot of people think the books are nothing compared to the show, and I can’t say otherwise, as I haven’t watched the show, but having read the plot of the show, I can say it has no appeal to me whatsoever, and is nothing like the books I know and love.

A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE MAIN CHARACTER ENDED UP WITH THE WRONG PERSON, OR, AN OTP YOU DON’T LIKE

I don’t think there have been many instances where I don’t like who a character has ended up with, but I can think of one. There’s also an instance where I just didn’t like the love triangle in general:

athousandpiecesofyou

SPOILERS FOR ‘A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU’ BY CLAUDIA GRAY

Okay, this is the first book of a series (trilogy?) so things might change, but I didn’t like Marguerite with Paul. At all. It was Theo all along for me. Her relationship with Paul felt very random and forced, and also she seemed to be in love with Lieutenant Markov, Paul’s Russian other-dimension counterpart, rather than Paul himself.

CA_cover

SPOILERS FOR THE ‘INFERNAL DEVICES’ TRILOGY BY CASSANDRA CLARE

Putting to the side my hatred of Will and Tessa, and my liking of Jem, I have a few issues with this love triangle. Firstly, she ends up with both of them. What a cop-out! It’s not romantic or sweet, it’s an excuse to satisfy all the fans, and it falls completely short for me. In my opinion, the dynamic they have where Tessa loves them both equally, neither guy minds, and they just have a weird three-way romance/bromance going on is just pure creepy and unrealistic. Secondly, it is clear, however much Cassandra Clare argues that she loves both Will and Jem equally, that Will is the golden boy. It is obvious from the writing that Will is the preferred option for Tessa, and that Clare prefers him as a character, and for that reason it gives the notion that Tessa loves them both the same a massive sense of incredulity. Tessa has more of a connection with Jem in my mind, as her love with Will seems to based purely off physical attraction and a mutual love of books, which is not enough for a solid basis to a relationship, but reading it, I felt almost like I was being punished for not liking Will more than Jem, as it is obvious in the way she writes it that it is what Clare wants us to feel, and I have issues when it is obvious that an author wants me to feel a certain way about events and characters when I do not agree.

A POPULAR GENRE YOU HARDLY REACH FOR

Romance. You all know that, though. I do not like books where the entire plot is dependant on a romance. I like romances when it is a contributing factor to a higher plot, but when the romance IS the plot, I’m turned off immediately.

A POPULAR CHARACTER YOU DO NOT LIKE

I’m just going to list here; there are far too many (warning: this list is very, very long). You may sense a common theme in the male characters:

  • Jace Wayland from ‘The Mortal Instruments’ by Cassandra Clare – A typical arrogant, not-nearly-as-funny-as-he-thinks-he-is, ‘too attractive for my own good’ bad boy. My ultimate turn off.
  • Will Herondale from ‘The Infernal Devices’ by Cassandra Clare – See above. Also, having a rubbish excuse for a ‘childhood trauma’ is no excuse for the way he treats other people – he is pure nasty sometimes, and a sob story and a bit of humour certainly doesn’t make up for it in my opinion.
  • Noah Shaw from ‘The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer’ by Michelle Hodkin – See above.
  • Bellamy Blake from ‘The 100’ by Kass Morgan – See above.
  • Warner from ‘Shatter Me’ by Tahereh Mafi – I understand that later in the series you are meant to ship him with Juliette, but I’m sorry, after the possessive borderline-rapey way he treats her in the first one, I have zero respect for him.
  • The Darkling from ‘Shadow and Bone’ by Leigh Bardugo – He’s a villain I love to hate, but he is no more than that: a villain. I love the way he is written and constructed, but as a character I detest him. I certainly don’t love him or ship him with Alina like most people do.
  • Rowan Whitethorn from ‘Heir of Fire’ by Sarah J. Maas – See Jace and Will.
  • Tris Prior from ‘Divergent’ by Veronica Roth – One of the most hypocritical, self-important and judgemental characters I have ever read about. I have serious issues that she just goes around shooting and killing people just for being Erudite and with no proof of their guilt, and we are meant to see her as ‘strong’ and ‘brave’.
  • Eleanor from ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell – I felt like I should love her, as a lot of her life sounded similar to myself, however I thought the way she went about situations was infuriating, and she was very self-pitying.
  • Tessa Gray from ‘The Infernal Devices’ by Cassandra Clare – The way she treats the people around her really pisses me off.

Phew! There we go.

A POPULAR AUTHOR YOU CANNOT SEEM TO GET INTO

Morgan Matson. I’ve tried. I’ve started ‘Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour’ and ‘Second Chance Summer’, and I just cannot get into them. I have no desire whatsoever to read ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’ either.

A POPULAR TROPE YOU ARE TIRED OF SEEING

Bad boy love interests who are arrogant and attractive, but ultimately ‘funny’ and ‘sweet’. No. You’ve probably guessed that it is my ultimate book peeve by now, though. Also, when one half of the love triangle ‘dies’ (or similar) so they get with the other person, only to discover that the first one isn’t dead at all. I wasn’t keen the first time I read that one, let alone the twentieth. Actually, make that love triangles in general…

A POPULAR SERIES YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

I always say ‘never say never’, so unless I have started and hated a series, there is no guarantee that I won’t read it. However, I’m going to say that it is very unlikely that I will read the whole of the ‘Gone’ series by Michael Grant (I’ve started the first one, and can’t see myself reaching the end). This is a pre-emption, but I also won’t be reading the next series put out by Veronica Roth (whenever that may be), and I can’t see myself reading ‘The Last Hours’ series that Cassandra Clare is planning either.

THE BOOK IS NOT ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE…

The_Hunger_Games_Mockingjay_Pin_1920x1200_Mockingjay-symbol1

Many people by now know that I far prefer the ‘Hunger Games’ movies to the books. I wrote a full post talking through that one. But I’m also going to say ‘The Lovely Bones’ by Alice Sebold. It’s not that there’s anything wrong with the book, but I think the concept comes across so much better on screen, and the film is one of my favourites.

thelovelybones

Moan over. I promise. Now, this time I actually am going to tag two people (shocker, I know). I tag Mallory at Leaning Tower of Tomes, because I don’t think she has done this one, and I really want to know what she will say. I also tag my best friend, who is planning to set up a blog soon, to give her a bit of motivation. That’s all for now, and sorry if I’ve insulted your favourite books/characters/series!!!

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince)

10 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Ha, I hate the bad boy trope too, it’s so freaking overdone and some of these bad boys send such a bad message for how to be a decent human being. Just because he says some swoonworthy lines and is ultimately “sweet” does not give him the right to be a dick to pretty much everyone around him..
    Loved your post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Much as it pains me, Emma, I have to agree with you on “Mockingjay”. I loved the first two “Hunger Games” books and devoured them in about two days. The finale, however, just didn’t live up to its predecessors. It lacked the freshness, urgency, and (dare I say it?) fire that characterize the other two novels. Everything felt a little weary and scattered. Or maybe I just didn’t get enough Katniss/Peeta time…*unabashed grin*. As a conclusion to such an otherwise engrossing series, “Mockingjay” disappointed me. You are not alone in your “unpopular” book opinion on that one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was just so disappointed by how the series seemed to take a step backwards… It felt rushed, not thought through particularly well and definitely lacked the fire of the first two!

      Like

Leave a Reply

