Discussions and Tags · TBRs and Hauls

Ten Books I Am Excited to Read This Month

I know I’ve just posted a Top 5 Wednesday post, but there is another top 10 I want to talk about today. There are a lot of books I have been desperate to read recently but I didn’t have the time to, and now I do, so I’m having to weigh them all up to decide which ones to get to first! I suppose this post acts as a kind of TBR for the beginning of this month, as I do not plan to do a full TBR for June (I never stick to them anyway).

‘Blue Karma’ by J.K. Ullrich

bluekarma

I recently received a digital copy of this one for review, and I am so excited for it! I’m reading it now, and even though I’m not even 10% through yet, I think this could be a hit with me. The way things are going, you should get a review within the next 48 hours.

‘Graceling’ by Kristin Cashore

graceling

I’ve been meaning to read this one for so long! I’ve heard so many fab things about it; Mallory over at Leaning Tower of Tomes absolutely raves about it, and I trust her opinion (no pressure!). I do own ‘Fire’, the companion novel (I know it’s not really a sequel) so if I’m impressed with Cashore’s writing I can plough straight into that!

‘The Mysterious Affair at Styles’ by Agatha Christie

themysteriousaffairatstyles

You know by now of my love for Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot! This was the first Poirot mystery, and I bought it last night as an end-of-exams gift for myself, having been eyeing this edition in my local Asda for ages now! I feel like this is one that I should have read (I mean, I’ve read the last Poirot but not the first!) so I can’t wait to finally read this.

‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas

acourtof

I’m a big ‘Throne of Glass’ fan, and I pre-ordered this so I could get into it as soon as possible. Clearly that hasn’t happened yet, but I’m determined to read it now. I want to see if I feel the same way about a Sarah J. Maas book outside of the ‘Throne of Glass’ world.

‘An Ember in the Ashes’ by Sabaa Tahir

anemberintheashes

I was so excited for this one, and I have heard a load of good reviews. I’ve also heard some not-so-good ones, but I am determined to read it as soon as possible and make up my own mind about it.

‘All the Light We Cannot See’ by Anthony Doerr

allthelightwecannotsee

I am already a few chapters into this one, and so far it has been absolutely brilliant. Unfortunately I had to put it down, which interrupted my flow, but I really want to get back to it. It is a lot quicker to read than I thought it would be, and I want to just pick it up and not put it down until I’m done.

‘The Last Time We Say Goodbye’ by Cynthia Hand

thelasttimewesaygoodbye

I’m reading this one for the Quarterly Book Club, and I am looking forward to it. I had it listed as one of my most anticipated releases for this year, and I ordered a copy a few weeks back (unfortunately shipping from America takes an absolute age, so it won’t be here for a week or two). I had it listed alongside ‘I Was Here’ by Gayle Forman on my ‘anticipated list’ due to a similar topic, and it turned out I wasn’t all that fond of ‘I Was Here’, so hopefully this book is more of a hit.

‘Blood Promise’ by Richelle Mead

bloodpromise

I am really getting into the ‘Vampire Academy’ series, and I am hoping it continues getting better and better. Saying that, I’m nervous to continue, as the end of the last book completely broke me…

‘The Name of the Wind’ by Patrick Rothfuss

name-of-the-wind-cover

I started this back in March for the last quarter of the Quarterly Book Club, but despite really liking it, just wasn’t in the mood for it, so stopped after 75 pages. Now, I’m ready to pick it back up again. Last time, Rothfuss’s writing pulled me straight in, and I’m hoping it will do again.

‘The Name of the Star’ by Maureen Johnson

thenameofthestar

My best friend recently marathonned this series, and is on my case to read it straight away! I’m not sure about it, but I have read the novella, ‘The Boy in the Smoke’, which I really liked.

There we have it; ten books I really want to read this month! Fingers crossed I’ll get around to them all.

Follow me on Twitter @emmathereader, Tumblr (www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com) and Goodreads (www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince)

9 thoughts on “Ten Books I Am Excited to Read This Month

  1. I just finished An Ember in the Ashes and I really loved it. I might be biased because I love a good book with influences from ancient history, but I really liked it! Also yay for the Quarterly Book Club! Can’t wait to see what you think of the Cynthia Hand book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No pressure, no pressure… Gosh, I hope you like Graceling. I don’t know what I’d feel if you end up not liking it… And I just got ACOTAR out from the library and I’m going to start reading it really soon! Hope you manage to tackle all these books… it’s quite a great tbr!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am reading ACOTAR right now and am about 55% through. It’s my first Maas book, and I really want to enjoy it, but I am struggling a tad. So many people love her books and I want to be one of them, so hopefully the next 45% will change my mind.

    Like

  4. I’m doing a read along right now for ACOTAR along with a bunch of it here bloggers including the girls at Bibliophile Gathering! The read along started on the first of June and finishes at the end of June! You should really join so we can all discuss our thoughts together! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

