Discussions and Tags

The Creative Blogger & Liebster Awards

I’ve been nominated by the lovely Fiona at My Cafe Au Livre for a few blog awards. One of which, The Inspiring Blogger Award, I have done before, however I have not done either the Creative Blogger Award or the Liebster Award, so I’m very happy to make this collaborative post the first one upon my blogging return.

Firstly, many, many thanks to Fiona, and I ask you all to please head over to her blog ASAP and give her a follow! Now, for the questions and facts! 

The Liebster Award

1. Link back to and thank the person who nominated you – Once again, thanks to My Cafe Au Livre – go check her out now!

2. Answer the eleven questions they gave you:

1. Who are your favourite authors?

This is so very very hard! I’m just going to spout a list of author who I admire very much: J.K. Rowling, Sarah J. Maas, Mark Haddon, Cassandra Clare, Alfred Tennyson (poets count, surely!), Cecelia Ahern, J.R.R. Tolkien, Rick Riordan… Okay, I should stop now…

2. Favourite book as a child? Do you still go back and read it?

Harry Potter’. Easily. It was the first book (or series) where I truly became absorbed in the book and the story within. It was probably the series that sparked my love for reading. A less conventional option, ‘The Railway Children’ by E. Nesbit. And yes, I do still go back and read both of these choices, and probably will continue to for a very long time.

3. Are there any movie adaptations you prefer over the actual book?

I make no secret of this one, but ‘The Hunger Games’ springs straight to mind. Also, ‘The Lovely Bones’ by Alice Sebold and ‘These Foolish Things’ (or, ‘The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel’) by Deborah Moggach.

4. If you were the heroine of your own story, which fictional character would you pick as your sidekick?

Argh! I can’t choose! If I was absolutely forced to select a sidekick (okay, this is two but whatever) I would have to oust Harry Potter and claim Ron and Hermione as my sidekicks, just to fulfil my childhood fantasy of being their best friend!

5. Do you read one book at a time, or multiple at once?

Multiple at once. It sometimes mean I get through things slower, but I love flicking between books, as I think that reading more than one thing at once can keep your mind open to things that may be present in one book that another one would benefit from having, or I find it easier to be able to formulate an opinion on it if I take a step back for a bit and take time to dwell on my feelings towards it. Primarily, though, I get bored easily!

6. If you had to read one genre for the rest of the year, what would it be?

Fantasy. I’ve been wanting to spend more time recently getting through large fantasy novels that I usually don’t have the patience to read, and I am planning to reread some old fantasy favourites, so I could totally live with that!

7. What books being released this year are you most looking forward to?

It’s a Sarah J. Maas double here! I have recently preordered both ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ and ‘Queen of Shadows’ (side note: the cover is gorgeous!) and I cannot wait for either of these! I’m getting impatient!

8. Where’s your favourite spot to read?

As long as I’m reading, I tend not to be fussed where I am, but I’m going to say in bed, as I am an incredibly lazy person, and I spend an awful lot of my time lying on my bed time-wasting and procrastinating, so I am rather accustomed to reading there. Also, I can reach my shelves from my bed, so it’s convenient too.

9. Favourite beverage whilst reading?

Kill me for it, but I detest hot beverages: coffee, tea, hot chocolate are all a big no-no. I prefer fruit juices, of which my favourite is raspberry and cranberry, so I choose that.

10. Top 5 female and top 5 male characters?

I’m not numbering these, but my female choices are Celaena Sardothien from ‘Throne of Glass’, Karou from ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’, both Hermione Granger and Nymphadora Tonks from ‘Harry Potter’ and finally Cath from ‘Fangirl’.  The male list is Alec Lightwood from ‘The Mortal Instruments’, Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot, Bilbo Baggins in ‘The Hobbit’, Remus Lupin from ‘Harry Potter’ and finally Christopher from ‘The Curious Incident…’

11. What’s next on the TBR?

I need to finish ‘The Name of the Wind’ by Patrick Rothfuss and ‘Let the Sky Fall’ by Shannon Messenger for the Quarterly Book Club, but beyond that, the next books in line are ‘Suite Francais’ by Irene Nemirovsky, ‘All the Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven, ‘Amy and Matthew’ by Cammie McGovern, ‘Scarlet’ by Marissa Meyer and ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee.

3. Tag up to 11 bloggers who have 200 or less subscribers – that’ll come at the end of the post!

4. Ask your nominees eleven questions and let them know you tagged them. Okay, here’s the list:

  1. Who is your favourite fictional character of all time and why?
  2. Which series did you love to begin with, but think went downhill as it progressed?
  3. Do you prefer stand-alones or series?
  4. How big is your TBR, and if it is very large, do you have any methods in place to try to shrink it?
  5. Do you often reread books?
  6. What is your least favourite book and why?
  7. Paperback, hardback or eBook?
  8. Pick your favourite and least favourite genre to read.
  9. Which five books to you want to have read by the end of the year?
  10. What is your pet peeve when it comes to writing?
  11. When you rate a book, do your ratings tend to stay similar to your initial thoughts, or do you find yourself going back and changing them?

The Creative Blogger Award

1. Thank and link the amazing person who nominated you – Fiona again!

2. Nominate 15-20 blogs and alert them to their nomination – the nominations will come at the end.

3. Share 5 facts about yourself:

  • My birthday is August 18th. This always made me the youngest in my year group or friendship group in school, and that often made me incredibly annoyed as a little kid! Now, I love having a summer birthday.
  • My best friend and myself created our school leavers’ yearbook at the end of Year 11, and we were immensely proud of it, as it was the first time the two of us had really been chosen by our peers to do something for the year (we were never in the popular clique), and we had a fantastic time making it.
  • My all-time favourite song is ‘Read My Mind’ by The Killers. The Killers are a band that my dad introduced me to when I was younger, and we both love their music, but this song in particular (both mine and my dad’s favourite) will always bring back fond memories for me.
  • I have a very ‘I don’t care attitude’ when it comes to clothes and make-up. I dress in jeans and T-shirts – not very stylish but I feel comfortable in them – and I never, ever wear make-up anymore. In a way, it’s because I’m a bit of a tomboy, but also, I don’t see the point in wasting time altering my opinion in order to impress other people. The only person I need to impress right now is myself.
  • I am an expert at procrastinating! In fact, the act of writing this post is me procrastinating instead of doing coursework! I always tell myself that this year will be the year I stop completing things a stupidly short amount of time from the deadline, but it never happens. It isn’t that I’m not organised – in fact I’m very organised – but if I am not motivated to do something, I will put it off for as long as possible.

There we go! I’ve completed my tasks, and now I nominate all of the following people for BOTH (or either, if they’d prefer) of these awards! You can probably see that there aren’t 15-20 people here, and that not all of them have less than 200 followers, but I feel like I’ve nominated quite a few people for other awards, and so I have chosen a few people I don’t recall nominating before.

Thanks very much to Fiona (once again) and to all the people I’ve nominated, have fun!

Emma 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Creative Blogger & Liebster Awards

Leave a Reply

