Updates

Monday 16th February – Weekly Update

I’m officially 1 and a half hours late for this update (yes, I’m writing it at 1:30AM, no judging) and I am up as I have literally just finished a pretty damn good book – more to come on that in a minute.

This week has been an incredibly busy week, what with some exam results, updating this site and the rush to get loads of stuff finished before my break, so as a consequence, I only read two full books. Both of these were YA fantasies, and both of them were great. I also read two short stories, the first ones I have read this year, and they’ve been fab too, so while I didn’t read much this week, I did enjoy what I did read.

The first of the two books I read was ‘Stolen Songbird’ by Danielle L. Jensen. I already have a bite-size review of this book up, and I absolutely adored it. I gave this 5 out of 5 quite easily, and I cannot wait for this trilogy to continue. Tying in with that one, one of my short stories of the week was ‘The Songbird’s Overture’, the small novella set before ‘Stolen Songbird’. I did enjoy this novella, but it didn’t really give us anything new at all, so I only gave it 4 stars, but my enjoyment was equal to that of ‘Stolen Songbird’. The other short story I read was ‘Ponies’ by Kij Johnson, which I have also posted a bite-size review on. This tiny (literally 10-page) tale was one of the most brutal yet realistic fictionalisations of the ‘battle for popularity’ that most young girls face, and it baffled me how there was so much truth in so little pages. This one received 4.5 stars, rounded to 4, mainly as I wish it were slightly longer. The final book I read this week is the one I finished literally 20 minutes ago, and that is ‘Shadow and Bone’ by Leigh Bardugo. This has been on my shelf since August, but it took it being the Quarterly Book Club choice (shout out to Nina and Samantha, who run the Quarterly Book Club) for me to actually pick this one up. Despite my initial qualms, I fell in love with Alina and Mal, and ended up immensely enjoying this one. A 4.5 star rating, rounded to 4 for the moment but with a potential increase. I will be reviewing this one soon.

Besides my ‘Stolen Songbird’ and ‘Ponies’ bite-size reviews, I have finally posted my ‘Maze Runner’ and ‘Falling Kingdoms’ reviews this week, as well as a plethora of assorted posts. I’ve been wanting to vary my posts from now on; if there’s anything you want me to post more often, head over to my ‘Polls’ page, where there is a new poll specifically for what you want to see on this site. Please vote, as I’d love the feedback!

I’m hoping to get a substantial amount of reading done this week, so fingers crossed I can shift some of my TBR! I hope you’ve all had a great week, and may the next be just as good.

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Facebook www.facebook.com/emdoesbookreviews

Leave a Reply

