Discussions and Tags

Thirteen Pretty Covers For Friday the 13th

I’m not one for cover buys, but if a book I want to read has a particularly gorgeous edition, I will pay that little bit extra for the nicest cover (within reason, of course. I’m still a cheapskate). There are some fantastic covers in my collection (not all of them for particularly good books) so I’ve decided to collaborate my favourite thirteen here for you; the number was purely coincidental, but seemingly apt! It was originally going to be ten, counting the similar ones together, but upon counting the individuals and realising the date, I have headed back to change it for Friday the 13th. This is all in no particular order, they’re all on a par if you ask me.

‘Mistborn: The Final Empire’ by Brandon Sanderson

final-empire

Specifically, the UK edition of this one. The blue and black on the white background is very eye-catching, and I definitely have a thing for crisp white backgrounds with a striking yet simple overlay.

‘Crown of Midnight’ by Sarah J. Maas

com

This is one of my favourite series, and the first two instalments especially have covers that are just as good as the book. I have to say that the cover of ‘Crown of Midnight’, just as the actual book does, slightly edges the others, with the red on white (yes, another white background, see a theme?)

‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’ by J.K. Rowling

poa_signature

Another case where my favourite book of the series has the cover I like the most, conveniently. As much as I adore my original covers (which I still own most of, despite having the signature edition box set) it is this one that really strikes me – white background again! I swear, it is my downfall when it comes to pretty books!

‘The Bone Clocks’ by David Mitchell

77.David Mitchell-The Bone Clocks jacket

There are so many relevant little images thrown onto this chaotic yet effective cover. Black and pink is a thumbs-up for colour combinations, and the birds and the water really caught my eye.

‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ and ‘Days of Blood and Starlight’ by Laini Taylor

DSB_final_6_1 (1)12812550

Come on,  these covers are so spectacular that I needed to put them both on. This is the first time where I have spent a lot of extra money, time and effort to get the American covers shipped, as the UK editions are purely horrible. These, however, are stunning, with the different coloured masks standing out on the black, and the font is lovely.

‘All The Light We Cannot See’ by Anthony Doerr

18143977

I love this cover so much. Blue is my favourite colour, and there’s certainly enough shades of it on here! I love the darker shades in the sky and the town, separated by the lighter hue of light reflecting off the sea. Easily one of the prettiest covers I’ve seen.

‘Talon’ by Julie Kagawa

This cover is absolutely drop-dead gorgeous. I love how shiny it is, the scales look so intricate when light reflects off them, and the dragon emblem making up the ‘O’ is also printed in gold onto the actual hardcover. If pressed, I may well single this cover out as a favourite… so shame the actual book was pretty terrible.

‘The Mark of Athena’ by Rick Riordan

The_Mark_of_Athena

All of the ‘Heroes of Olympus’ American hardcovers are pretty nice, but this one catches my eye more than the others. I love the eyes and the lightning, and the colours at the bottom blend together strikingly.

‘The Hobbit’ and ‘The Silmarillion’ by J.R.R. Tolkien

hobbit1The-Silmarillion

These little mass market paperbacks have incredibly understated covers. They aren’t as magnificent as some of the covers you can buy, and they don’t have fire, swords or anything particularly incredible, but I love the simplicity of them. The design on ‘The Silmarillion’ is beautiful, and the cartoon Smaug at the bottom of ‘The Hobbit’ is far nicer than the usual edition, with Smaug breathing fire.

‘Jane Eyre’ by Charlotte Bronte & ‘Sense and Sensibility’ by Jane Austen

janesense

I found these particularly gorgeous hardcovers in a bargain bookstore for £3 each, and I remember thinking that they were quite possibly the prettiest books I’d ever found for £3. Each of them has a gorgeous branch with blossom on, with ‘Jane Eyre’ coloured blue and ‘Sense and Sensibility’ yellow.

There we have it: 13 pretty book covers for Friday the 13th!

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Facebook www.facebook.com/emdoesbookreviews

14 thoughts on “Thirteen Pretty Covers For Friday the 13th

      1. It came out before 2009 so thats the reason why. Its about poltergists, ghosts, zombies etc. so it wasn’t my first choice. I prefer vampires and dystopian types of books.

        Like

  1. I have the white background editions for all the current Throne of Glass books and I have to say that the Assassin’s Blade bind-up is equally as gorgeous! Sarah J Maas has very beautiful covers all round!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

