Bite-Size Corner · Book Reviews 2015 · Fantasy Books

Bite-Size Corner – ‘Stolen Songbird’ by Danielle L. Jensen

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the mountain. When Cecile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she realises that the trolls are relying on her to break the curse.

Cecile has only one thing on her mind: escape. But the more time she spends with the trolls, the more she understands their plight. There is a rebellion brewing, and she might just be the one the trolls were looking for…

5 Stars

I’d heard nothing but good things about ‘Stolen Songbird’, and was intending to pick it up for quite a while, but it was the blurb that really persuaded me to pick it up instantly. The book tells the story of a young woman kidnapped and trapped within the troll city under the mountain, in the hope that she will break the curse to set the free. I have to say that this book has jumped onto my favourites list, and I am eagerly awaiting the sequel.

Pros

  • Cecile is a likeable female protagonist; not the best – she can be a bit dense and irrational at times – but she certainly is a character who I could feel sympathy for, understand the behaviour of and was rooting for at the end of the day.
  • Tristan, the love interest, made me change my mind. To begin with, I thought that he was a typical hot-arrogant-bastard type, but my judgement was proved wrong, and I finished the book really liking him. Tristan and Cecile had good chemistry, there was no insta-love, and their relationship was slow-burning.
  • There was no major love triangle! There were two characters – Chris and Anais – who were keen for Cecile and Tristan’s relationship to end, but Cecile openly stated that she wouldn’t want a relationship with Chris, whilst Anais admitted that she knew Tristan would never choose her over Cecile, and that was the end of the matter. Furthermore, I was dreading a love triangle between Tristan and Marc (as I preferred Marc, but Tristan would win) but thankfully Marc was never a potential love interest.
  • The supporting cast of characters was strong – Vincent and Victoria were hilarious, Angouleme was suitably creepy, the Duchesse was a unique touch, and I completely fell in love with Marc.
  • The magical elements were done very mysteriously; while we got some answers in this book, we certainly are in the dark about many aspects, which I can’t wait to be revealed. There are also no loopholes or logistical issues surrounding the boundaries of the magic – it is all executed very smoothly.
  • There is a darker political aspect to the story – the plot does not rely solely on ‘we want to escape but can’t, so she shall help us’ as I expected, instead having many layers to discuss regarding logistics, and whether release would be the right thing to do. It felt slightly darker than I was expecting in this approach.

Cons

  • Just a personal issue, but I have no idea how to pronounce half of the French names!
  • There were a couple of characters that I disagreed with: Anais, as she was the typical jealous party, and Chris, as he seemed really quite creepy if you ask me, and I don’t think he was meant to be!
  • There is one element of the story which will be a major plot point for the next two books, however I would like to hasten a guess at said element already – it was a tiny bit obvious. I’m not giving anything away, but I reckon that if you look hard enough (or have read a lot of the fantasy genre!) then a few plot-lines may be a tad predictable.
  • I liked the majority of the characters, however I didn’t connect with most of them in the same way as I did when I read something like ‘Throne of Glass’ by Sarah J. Maas (which I actually regard at a similar level as this book). These characters (with the exception of Marc, who I adored) were just kind of… meh. This will probably change come the next book, and I have faith in the series, but I didn’t have too strong an opinion on Cecile or Tristan.

Would I recommend – HELL YES, if you love fantasy (or even if you just want to read a bit more of the genre) then I actively recommend this book. This could be a contender for my Top 15 of 2015!

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Facebook www.facebook.com/emdoesbookreviews

Leave a Reply

