Updates

Update – Blog Changes

Hi all!

While lying in bed, staring at the ceiling and dying of boredom, I decided that I was going to make a few additions to what I post/have on my blog. When I set out to create this blog, I was determined that I would only use it to post book reviews. I then expanded to book-related discussions, tags and even the odd film review (yes, I know I’ve only posted one, but that’s as I don’t watch many films, not that I’ve forgotten about it). I’ve decided that now is the time to make a few additions, move some things around and make my blog the way I really want it to be.

Firstly, you may have read the statement at the beginning of my very first ‘bite-size’ review, of ‘Ponies’ by Kij Johnson. If you didn’t it went as follows:

First, a note on bite-size reviews: I was reading a short story today – when I say short, I mean literally a handful of pages – and whilst reading it, I realised that I had a lot to say on the content, but not enough to pad out a full review. This is where the bite-size corner comes in. If I have a book/novella where I do not have enough to say to create a full review, I will create a ‘bite-size’ review, stating simply its rating, what I loved and did not love and any miscellaneous thoughts about the book in a compact and brief manner. These can be found collected in the ‘bite-size corner’ category (on the sidebar or menu), and their images will go on the reviewed books list in a separate section. This way, you get to hear my thoughts on a wider selection of stories.

As you can see, I have added a section where I will be creating short reviews for those times when I have very little to say on a book. This way, I can review more things than before – including short stories, novellas and poetry – so I can have a bigger range of reviews on this blog, and I can write reviews when I have little time to do so.

A change you may have noticed is that my poll has moved from the sidebar. It hasn’t gone completely! Instead, I have a page for polls, which can be found in the menu. I’m planning on adding more polls, as recently more people have voted on my existing one, and I love hearing your opinions, so if you haven’t voted on any of my polls, please do so!

The biggest change is that I want to add a more personal aspect to my blog. I have recently done two blog awards which asked for me to talk about myself, and I realised that while I still have the stance I had when I started this blog – that I do not want too much personal information on here – I’d actually quite like to make this blog feel a little bit more.. like mine. Therefore, expect to see a new category appear on the menu bar entitled ‘Personal Zone’ (or something of the like), where I will be adding bits and pieces which are not book/reading related, but give a little bit of an insight as to myself as a person, for example a facts page and a photography gallery – nothing too personal, just some of my photos that do not contain identifiable family/friends or traceable locations. I also want to upload a few short stories (and maybe poems) of my own creation; I’ve always wanted to do so, but I’ve had a niggling voice in the back of my head telling me not to do it. One note I have to make is that I request very politely that no-one borrows pieces of my writing to pass off as their own, or to use without crediting me. I’m not saying anyone would, but it’s always a risk, isn’t it? I’m proud of some of my stories and would hate to see them used elsewhere (and furthermore, some of these have been entered into competitions, and by someone else using them, it could play havoc with the terms and conditions). A miserable tone, I know, but something I feel I have to mention.

I think that covers most of the things I intend to do with my blog, but don’t be surprised if anything else changes.

UPDATE: TIME FOR A THEME CHANGE TO TOP IT ALL OFF!

Thanks for reading!

Emma 🙂

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

2 thoughts on “Update – Blog Changes

Leave a Reply

