Updates

Sunday 8th February – Weekly Update

Hello! Hope you’ve all had a good week!

This week hasn’t been dreadful on the reading front, but it hasn’t been the best either. Only a couple of hours after I wrote my weekly update last Saturday, I finished Meg Rosoff’s ‘How I Live Now’. Quite a few of you have seen the full review I posted shortly after, and I’m relieved to see that many of you agree with me. Aside from that late entry to last week’s ‘read’ list, I finished three books this week. The first was ‘Falling Kingdoms’ by Morgan Rhodes, a book I have been very excited to read for a long time. I’m glad that I have finally read it, and I will be continuing with the series without a shadow of a doubt, however I did not adore it in the same way that I have seen other people do, and I gave it a solid 4 stars. More on this to come when I review it! The next book I read was the first book to count towards my ‘5 classics’ target of the 105 challenge; ‘Lord of the Flies’ by William Golding. I was keen to read this as I know that many people have it set as required reading for school. I found it a lot easier to get through than I expected, and I actually saw a lot of sense in the story, however it wasn’t hugely memorable. I gave this 3.25 stars, but I don’t think I am going to do a full review of it, as I do not like reviewing classics – so many people love them for so many reasons that I do not feel like I want to impart my judgement on it, in case I’m hugely missing the point. Literally ten minutes before writing this, I finished my third book of the week – ‘The Maze Runner’ by James Dashner. Yes, it took me a very long time to jump on this bandwagon. I have to say that I wasn’t sure whether I would like it going into the book, and my feelings are not much clearer coming out of it. I’m definitely going to review this one very soon, as I want to get my thoughts onto the page to see if that makes me feel one way or another about it, but for now, I can’t decide. I gave it 3.5 stars, but my Goodreads rating is fluctuating between 4 and 3, as I cannot settle on one of the two.

Earlier on this week, I released a backlog of other posts that I have been planning for a while – my ‘Uglies’ review, the Versatile Blogger award, my January wrap-up and my February TBR. I have also got back into the Top 5 Wednesday posts, and I am succeeding in not going more than three days without a post!

I’m planning to combat the fact that I never complete my TBR piles by leaving my monthly TBR and the books that I am currently reading stacked on my cupboard, and not placing them on my shelf until I have finished them. This way, I will get frustrated that they are not put away and be more likely to read them so that they can go back on the shelf. I’m not sure how long this slightly iffy method will work for, but it is currently succeeding at something, even if that something is stopping me from stacking my washed clothes on the cupboard rather than putting them away! Hopefully the number of TBR books I read this month will be above four.

On the topic of TBRs and currently reading, the books I am hoping to read this week are ‘The Bone Clocks’ by David Mitchell, ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen (which I am actually rather enjoying now, surprisingly) and ‘Under the Greenwood Tree’ by Thomas Hardy.

That’s all for this week. Hope your weekend was fab and fulfilling, and have a good week!

Emma 🙂

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Leave a Reply

