TBRs and Hauls

My February 2015 TBR

I’m rather late once again, but here’s my TBR list for the month of February! Last month, I pointed out that I rarely ever complete these lists, having read four out of ten on each monthly TBR list I have done. However, I am a lot more optimistic with this month’s list, as it features some books I am very eager to read.

I have already finished two books for February, neither of which I had really intended to read this month, but they were impulse reads. I’m feeling very impulsive at the moment, so I am picking up books that I wouldn’t have done otherwise, which is aiding my TBR pile. With regards to this list, two of the books are carried over from last month, and I have already started two of the list. So without further ado, let’s discuss the books I want to read (but likely won’t) in February:

1. ‘The Selection’ by Kiera Cass – The only one of the ten missing from the picture above, as I own this as an eBook rather than in physical copy. This will make it harder to read as I do not like reading eBooks, but this book is for my ‘Emma and Georgie Best Friend Reading Challenge’ and was conveniently the iBooks free book of the week on the week we devised our challenge list, so why buy it physically when it was free? This book is very popular and my best friend loved it, but I’m thinking it may be too girly for my tastes, but then again it is an experiment, so you never know.

2. ‘The Bone Clocks’ by David Mitchell – This was definitely an impulse thing when I picked it up and started it last week. I own three David Mitchell books, all of which I have started and none of which I have finished, so I’m hoping this will be the first. I am a little way in and I am rather enjoying it at the moment, so I’m hoping it’ll continue to be a hit, especially as it is a huge book and I will struggle to finish it if I lose my motivation.

3. ‘The Fellowship of the Ring’ by J.R.R. Tolkien – One of my challenges for the year was to read ‘The Lord of the Rings’ (for the first time in years) and ‘The Silmarillion’, and I was meant to pick this one up last month to kick-start the task, but last month was very stressful for me, so I didn’t feel like starting such a massive book. This month, I feel less pressurised, so it may be back on the cards.

4. ‘Academ’s Fury’ by Jim Butcher – Same applies to this as to ‘The Fellowship of the Ring’. I started this book last month, but didn’t continue it, as I adore the series so much that I didn’t want to rush through it when I was stressed, so I moved it from my January TBR to my February one, so hopefully I can savour it.

5. ‘The Son of Neptune’ by Rick Riordan – Many of you know that I am in a Rick Riordan phase, having just finished ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ and started ‘The Heroes of Olympus’. This is the next Riordan book on the agenda, and I cannot wait to get to it. I also highly doubt that this’ll be the only Riordan book I read this month; I’ll probably surge forward with ‘Heroes of Olympus’.

6. ‘Perfume’ by Patrick Suskind – This book is one of my two TBR jar picks (along with ‘The Uninvited’ by Liz Jensen, which I started but didn’t much like last month). It was recommended to me by my English teacher, and I cannot wait to get started on it.

7. ‘The Maze Runner’ by James Dashner – Another major series I am late to get around to, I am planning on buddy-reading this with my best friend. Neither of us know what to expect, and both of us feel very mixed about it, having heard a plethora of different responses, so I reckon it’s time we made up our own minds.

8. ‘The Pirate’s Wish’ by Cassandra Rose Clarke – I read the first book in this duology, ‘The Assassin’s Curse’, late last year, as well as a novella for it, and I cannot wait to complete the duology. At the end of ‘The Assassin’s Curse’, things were getting better and better, so fingers crossed that this book picks up on that high.

9. ‘Scarlet’ by Marissa Meyer – One I’m a little less excited for. I read ‘Cinder’ a few months ago, and thought it was pretty mediocre. ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ is a series my best friend is very fond of, and so this has become another Emma and Georgie challenge book. I’m hoping it is good, however I’m mainly reading it for the challenge, and if it weren’t for that, I don’t think I’d be returning to the series so soon.

10. ‘Stolen Songbird’ by Danielle L. Jensen – I picked this one up on a whim, having heard brilliant things about it but not really knowing what it was about, but now that I have read the synopsis, I cannot wait to start it. It sounds very interesting, and totally my thing, so fingers crossed that it lives up to the expectations I am building.

theselection77.David Mitchell-The Bone Clocks jacketring1academHeroes_of_Olympus_-_The_Son_of_NeptuneperfumemazepirateswishScarlet_final_USA-Today1stolensongbird

As an alternative to this list, I have many books on the go on my ‘currently reading’ and ‘started on hold’ shelves which I wouldn’t mind finishing soon:

  • ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen (a necessity to finish soon for my English Literature course)
  • ‘The Power of Six’ by Pittacus Lore
  • ‘The Uninvited’ by Lix Jensen (a TBR jar pick)
  • ‘Watership Down’ by Richard Adams (for my classics task on my 105 challenge)
  • ‘Poison Princess’ by Kresley Cole (a good enough book, but I’m reading it as an eBook, so I’m struggling to finish it)
  • ‘A Game of Thrones’ by George R.R. Martin (my permanent ‘currently reading’ pile member)
  • ‘Northern Lights’ by Philip Pullman

Another thing to note is that I’ll be completing Shakespeare’s ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ for a university taster course I’m doing. Finally, I need to re-read ‘The Importance of Being Earnest’ by Oscar Wilde for my English course, but this’ll only take an evening, and will also count for my re-read task on the 105 challenge. That’s all to say for this post. I’m not asking too much… am I?

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

One thought on “My February 2015 TBR

  1. I’m excited to see how you go with The Selection, Fellowship of the Ring and Son of Neptune. I’ve read them all and loved them! Also I don’t believe The Selection is too girly, it’s quite a fun read.
    I’m excited to see how you like all the other books as there are a couple there I would like to read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

