Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – Top Futuristic Books

Wednesday yet again, and I have been sat here for a little while deliberating this topic. I do enjoy books set in the future, I really do, but I’ve actually read more mediocre ones than ones that I’ve loved. Nonetheless, I have found 5 futuristic books (or, in most cases, series), all of which I really enjoyed. So here goes:

5. ‘The Book of Ivy’ by Amy Engel

I think I’ve partly selected this one as I read it relatively recently, and it has been on my mind. It wasn’t an amazing or original concept, but I felt a great deal more appreciation for the idea in this story than I have in similar books I have read. Engel did a great job with this one, and I can’t wait for its sequel.

4. ‘The 5th Wave’ by Rick Yancey

16101128

Another book I’ve read in the past three months, I had very low expectations going into this alien sci-fi. In fact, I only read it as part of my TBR jar challenge. I ended up absolutely loving it. I was very fond of (nearly) every character, the plot was entertaining and I cannot wait for it to come out as a film next year.

3. ‘The 100’ by Kass Morgan

the100

This is just as much ‘Day 21’, the sequel, as the first book itself. I love this futuristic space/re-colonisation book, which many people know as a TV show in the USA. I really dislike the way the show has adapted the book, so I do not go to the hassle or expense of trying to watch it, but I would definitely recommend the book. The third book is out this month, and I can’t wait!

2. ‘The Hunger Games’ by Suzanne Collins

THG-Cover_UK

Rather than incorporating the whole series for this one, I’m going to say ‘The Hunger Games’ and ‘Catching Fire‘. Anyone who knows of my love for the franchise is probably wondering why this is number two, but if you’ve been reading this blog long enough, you’ve probably seen my Hunger Games Book vs Movie discussion, where I concluded that my love for it is actually enhanced by the films, and cannot be attributed to the books as such. Nonetheless, I did love the first two books upon first reading them, and they are important to me, even if I no longer love them like I used to.

1. ‘Under the Never Sky’ by Veronica Rossi

cover-under-the-never-sky-uk

It wasn’t quite the case with book one, but I absolutely adored books two and three of this trilogy, and it is easily in contention for my favourite dystopian. I wasn’t expecting to love it (which is actually a common trend in these choices, with the exception of number two) yet I found that its plot was a lot better put into writing than it seemed when I read the synopsis. Also, Rossi’s writing just gets better and better, and for once I wasn’t too bothered by our female protagonist, so it scores well all around.

That’s it; the five futuristic books I love which sprang to mind when I sat at my desk for twenty minutes staring at the shelf. A pretty conventional bunch I reckon, but I enjoyed them all regardless, so maybe they deserve to be common answers to this question.

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Leave a Reply

