Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – Top Authors I Would Like to Meet

Happy Wednesday all 🙂

This Top 5 Wednesday proved to be the most difficult one I have done, not because I had no answers, but because I do not often dwell on the thought of meeting authors. I always think that I would not want to meet my favourite author out of fear of being let down. Also, becoming an author has been my dream since I was little, and I reckon that if it were to happen, of course I would love to speak to fans, but as I am not a ‘people person’, I would be rather intimidated by having people expect so much from me having loved my work, so I am dubious to having authors who I love to the extent where I would want to meet and talk to them – this obviously means that I have very little to say about each of my choices! Anyway, I have compiled my list of 5 authors who I would most like to meet, so here we go!

(A quick note: I took this to mean that these authors do not have to be alive today)

5. John Green

John Green Author of The Fault in Our Stars

I am a huge admirer of John Green. As well as loving his books, I am a fan of his and his brother Hank’s ‘VlogBrothers’ YouTube channel, and the work he does promoting charities is admirable. He seems like a fun person, an interesting critic and above all, a nice guy.

4.  Mark Haddon

haddon, mark

Author of one of my all-time favourite books, ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’, I would love to talk to Mark Haddon about his thought processes behind that particular book. I would like to know in-depth how he came up with and developed the idea, as well as discussing how he built Christopher’s character. Above all of that, I would love to tell him how much his book meant to me.

3. Laini Taylor

laini_taylor_bio

Laini Taylor is the author whose actual writing I admire the most. Her prose is beautiful, and a bit like the way in which I like to write. Also, she seems like such an imaginative and creative person, and it would be fun to ask her for a little bit more on some of the superb fantastical ideas that she comes up with.

1. Rick Riordan

Rick_Riordan

He’s getting mentioned on here a lot recently, but I am clearly loving his work right now, what with the 3 novels of his that I have completed this month. I love the way in which he makes classic mythological stories accessible for children, and approaches them in a fresh way – I would love to know what inspired this concept. The narratives of both his ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ and ‘The Heroes of Olympus’ series are engaging, fun and appropriate, and I would like to ask him about his choices behind each narrative style and which one he found more interesting to write.

1. J.R.R. Tolkien

jrrtolkien

Of course this one could never happen as he died well before I was born, yet J.R.R. Tolkien is an author I would have many questions for, so he gets a place on this list. His books signalled a whole new era for fantasy novels, and I would have loved to know more about his thought processes regarding his world, as well as asking him about his expectations for the reception of his work.

Honourable mention goes to J.K. Rowling, but I had qualms about mentioning a person whom I have obviously built up expectations for (having been a fan of ‘Harry Potter’ since I was quite young), so I steered clear. Anyway, that was this week’s Top 5 Wednesday. I will not be participating in next week’s choice, ‘Top Anti-Heroes’, as I am stumped for ideas there, so I may create a list for myself next Wednesday.

Thanks for reading,

Emma 🙂

Check out the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads page, list of participants and the creator Lainey’s YouTube and get involved!

Twitter – @emmathereader

Tumblr – www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads – www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Top Authors I Would Like to Meet

  1. I just bought The Curious Incident of the dog in the nightime and I’m so excited to read it. It’s the first book I have read from this author and since you have added him in your fav them I’m sure that he is amazing

    Like

Leave a Reply

