TBRs and Hauls

My January 2015 TBR

It’s a new year, which gives me the opportunity to start afresh with my reading, and I intend to use this year to conquer the books which I said that I would read in the past and yet didn’t. I have many reading goals to motivate myself to do this, such as the 105 Challenge and the Finish That Series challenge, and my TBR for January draws upon books that I have already mentioned in my reading goals, or that will benefit my challenges.

I have already read one book in January, ‘Doll Bones’ by Holly Black (review here). I have also got four books which I have started and want to aim to finish this month, ‘Forsaken’ by Jana Oliver (a TBR jar pick), ‘The Power of Six’ by Pittacus Lore, ‘The Magician’s Nephew’ by C.S. Lewis and ‘Waves’ by Sharon Dogar. Beyond these four books, I have my usual list of ten books that I want to read this month:

1. ‘The Uninvited’ by Liz Jensen – This is my second TBR jar pick. I know very little about this book, so I am hoping that it will surprise me.

2. ‘Academ’s Fury’ by Jim Butcher – The second book in the ‘Codex Alera’ series. I read ‘Furies of Calderon’ in December and absolutely loved it, so much so that it made it onto my Top 14 of 2014. I’m determined to get through this series this year.

3. ‘Keeper of the Lost Cities’ by Shannon Messenger – This fantasy children’s book comes to me well-recommended, so I hope that it meets up to my expectations. Even though it is rather long, I am hoping that I will fly through it.

4. ‘Into the Still Blue’ by Veronica Rossi – This is the only unread book from my December TBR to be retained. I decided not to read this last month as if I complete it this year, ‘Under the Never Sky’ will go into my Finish That Series challenge as a series that I completed this year.

5. ‘Salmon Fishing in the Yemen’ by Paul Torday – This book has been on my shelves for two years, and sitting at the top of my unread books on Goodreads. I would quite like to remove it from its seat on that pile soon, otherwise it runs the risk of never being read. Furthermore, I own the film, but refuse to watch it until I have read it.

6. ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen – This is one of only two books on my ‘DNF’ shelf; I never DNF books, I always put them on hold for later, when I eventually finish them. I really have not enjoyed what I read of this (over a third), however, I have to read it for my English Literature course, so I am determined to actually know it inside out.

7. ‘Uglies’ by Scott Westerfeld – This is a book which I picked up, read a chapter of and then put down due to having started so many books at once. It is a rather popular series, so I would like to get book one finished as soon as possible.

8. ‘Northern Lights’ by Philip Pullman – Otherwise known as ‘The Golden Compass’, I have had the bind-up of all three books in the ‘His Dark Materials’ trilogy on my shelf since summer of 2013, and I have attempted to read it twice. Every time, I get two chapters in then for no apparent reason move on to another book. I am determined to get through it this time.

9. ‘The Fellowship of the Ring’ by J.R.R. Tolkien – This is a book which I first read a very, very long time ago, but can remember so little that I do not even have it listed on my Goodreads as read, as I feel that I would have to read it again to say that I have truly read it. It is a challenge of mine this year to read all of the ‘Lord of the Rings’ again, so this is the first step.

10. ‘Silksinger’ by Laini Taylor – It took me so long to get hold of this book as it is out-of-print (I believe), but I finally have it now. I adored the first one and I am fast becoming a Laini Taylor fan, so I would love to complete this book in January.

17630720academcitiescover-into-the-still-blue-uk133165318698786ugliesnorthernlightsring19780399246319_p0_v1_s260x420

That rounds up my TBR list for January. I’m going to presume that I will not complete it, as I only read 4 of the 10 on December’s list, but it’s a new year, so maybe I can make it a resolution to not deviate from my TBR? Probably not, but worth a shot.

Twitter – @emmathereader

Tumblr – www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads – www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

7 thoughts on “My January 2015 TBR

  1. Happy 2015, Emma! Oh, you’ve got some really good books on your TBR… (This next part could get long, just warning you, haha!)

    Into the Still Blue may have been my favorite in the trilogy, but I loved all three books. (Into the Still Blue also just squeaked onto my Top 14 of 2014 list!) Pride and Prejudice is definitely a good classic, but I think what helped me get through it was that I’d already seen the film version. I want to read more Jane Austen, though. I’ve read Uglies and didn’t love it like I thought I would, but the concept was interesting and I might reread it so I can continue with the series and see if it gets better. (It wasn’t bad at all, though!) Northern Lights/The Golden Compass is absolute perfection. I’ve read it twice now and it tied for my third favorite of the year in 2014. The whole trilogy is amazing. Definitely push through! The Lord of the Rings is epic (books and movies), and I think my favorite of the books is second, The Two Towers. (Which, interestingly, is my least favorite of the movies.) And last, while I haven’t read Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, I HAVE watched the movie–and loved it. Ewan McGregor, just, sigh. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy 2015 to you too!
      I really enjoyed ‘Through the Ever Night’ but I have to say that I wasn’t expecting to, as I didn’t really like ‘Under the Never Sky’. I have faith though that ‘Into the Still Blue’ will be as good as book two was. ‘Pride and Prejudice’ will be a struggle for me, so maybe I should watch the film and then read it. I’ve heard that a lot of people weren’t too keen on ‘Uglies’, or were disappointed by its execution, so I’ve not got particularly high expectations. I love the beginning of ‘Northern Lights’ so I can’t really figure why I put it down twice before. Third time’s lucky though! I am a big ‘The Hobbit’ fan, and I used to adore ‘Lord of the Rings’, so I think that it’s awful that it has been so long since I read LotR that I cannot recall all of it! I really do want to recap it but it is quite a big task to reread the entire trilogy at once, so I’m going to stagger it throughout the year. And finally, once I have eventually read ‘Salmon Fishing in the Yemen’, that film is getting watched, and hopefully I will love it as much as you did. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Through the Ever Night was also really good; I really liked the character development Perry especially went through. Yes, Lord of the Rings is a pretty big task, and I remember that it took me, like, a month to get through each book, at least! (Plus, those movies are just THE BEST. I watch them so much, haha. But I’ve only seen the first Hobbit movie. Gotta get on that and watch the last two…) 😀

        Like

      2. Because Smaug, no doubt? Haha–Benedict Cumberbatch, just aaaaaagh. (Have you watched Sherlock?) I loved the first Hobbit movie. I enjoy those epic kind of magical adventures. Which makes sense because my favorite genre to read is fantasy. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Smaug is undeniably rather epic. I have watched Sherlock. Benedict Cumberbatch is fab as Sherlock, but I’ve always preferred Watson to Sherlock, and I have a soft spot for Martin Freeman.
        Fantasy is my favourite as well, nothing beats the magic, action and adventure

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Martin Freeman is absolutely wonderful, too, so endearing. He and Benedict Cumberbatch have the most amazing chemistry on screen and I adore them both. And girl, FANTASY FOREVER!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

