Discussions and Tags

My Most Anticipated Books of 2015

homecoming allthe acourtof

It’s nearly the New Year, and it’s about time we turned our attention to what will be happening next year. There’s (obviously) going to be a lot more book releases over the course of the next year, and there are some releases that interest me more than others. Here is a list of the books that I cannot wait to be released throughout next year. I’m not entirely sure on the details of some of these books, and of course the release dates could all change. Also, these dates have been collected from two sources, Goodreads and Amazon UK. The Goodreads ones are presumably American dates, whereas the Amazon ones are UK dates, so there may be discrepancy in the releases. This list is in a vague chronological order, with publication dates correct as of December 2014. I will link the Goodreads page for each book in the title, so that you can search for more information about them!

‘All the Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven

Expected Publication – 6th January 2015

allthe

Not long until this one is released. This book is one which grabbed me straight away. I have never heard of Jennifer Niven before, but when I saw the cover, I decided that I had to read the synopsis. When I read the synopsis, I decided that I must buy this book. This book is about a suicidal boy and a girl grieving over her sister’s death, who stop each other from killing themselves and fall in love. It has been dubbed as ‘The Fault in our Stars meets Eleanor and Park’, and this could go two ways for me, as I love ‘The Fault in our Stars’ and hated ‘Eleanor and Park’, but I have a feeling that I will adore this book.

‘The Darkest Part of the Forest’ by Holly Black

Expected Publication – 13th January 2015

ol

I am a big Holly Black fan, and I have enjoyed everything that I have read by her so far. It is a target of mine to read every Holly Black book over the course of the next year or two, so obviously this one will factor into that. As per usual with Black, this book is about fae, and as she has covered this creature before, I am intrigued to how she makes this one different from her other fae books. Furthermore, it is a standalone fantasy, and those are pretty damn rare.

‘I Was Here’ by Gayle Forman

Expected Publication – 29th January 2015

iwashere

‘If I Stay’ was a very good book indeed, however neither the sequel ‘Where She Went’, nor Forman’s romance duology ‘Just One Day’ appeal to me in the slightest. However, I did love Forman’s work and was desperate to read something else by her. That is where ‘I Was Here’ factors in. About a girl searching for reasons as to why her best friend committed suicide, this book sounds a lot better suited to me than the other Forman books on offer, and when I pick up another book by her, I am pretty certain it will be this one.

‘The Last Time We Say Goodbye’ by Cynthia Hand

Expected Publication – 10th February 2015

17285330

I’ve had my eye on this book for quite a while now. Cynthia Hand is an author I have always intended to read and never gotten around to, and her ‘Unearthly’ trilogy has been on my wishlist forever. It was browsing that which caused me to stumble upon this book, a contemporary about a girl grieving for her brother, who committed suicide, and her struggle with a secret regarding his death. It is very much my kind of contemporary and there is one line in the synopsis which completely won me over: ‘Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on’.

‘Homecoming’ by Kass Morgan

Expected Publication – 24th February 2015

homecoming

This book is the third book in ‘The 100’, the series which has now been turned into a TV show in the US. I have not seen the show and have no desire to see it, so I cannot say much there, however I really recommend the series to anyone who likes YA sci-fi or dystopian. I can’t say much about this book as it is the third instalment, but I can say that the series is told from four points of view, Clarke, Glass, Wells and Bellamy, and is about how 100 young criminals are sent from their space station back to Earth -which has not been inhabited for many years – to discover whether it has recovered from a nuclear war enough for the survivors on the spaceship to re-colonise on the planet. I love ‘The 100’ (see my review here), and ‘Day 21’ was almost as good, however I am concerned that this book will be released so fast after its predecessor (‘Day 21’ was released in September). Despite this, I cannot wait for this book. I am not sure whether the series is a trilogy or not, so this may well be the last book.

‘Dream a Little Dream’ by Kerstin Gier

Expected Publication – 1st March 2015

21469090

I have heard nothing but good things about Gier’s ‘Ruby Red’ trilogy, which I am desperate to read. However, the synopsis for this one strikes me in a way that her ‘Ruby Red’ trilogy did not. The beginning of a new series, the synopsis reads as follows: ‘Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yep, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially this one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys perform dark magic rituals’. I don’t know about you, but I think that sounds pretty cool. This book is already out in Germany, Gier’s home country, and for once, it is the US and the UK left waiting for a release, rather than obtaining it first.

‘Rogue’ by Julie Kagawa

Expected Publication – 28th April 2015

rogue

This book is the sequel to ‘Talon’, a book which I am currently reading. I am finding ‘Talon’ okay, but I am not that far in, and as I know from Kagawa’s ‘Iron Fey’ series, it tends to take me a while to get into her books, but when I do, I love them. I am therefore keeping an eye on this one, as I know I will want to read on even if I am not blown away by ‘Talon‘.

‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas

Expected Publication – 5th May 2015

acourtof

As a big fan of Maas’s ‘Throne of Glass’ series, I think she has become an ‘auto-buy’ author me: an author whose work I would buy immediately regardless of the synopsis or the reviews. This is the start of her new series, which is said to be more New Adult than ‘Throne of Glass’, and it is said to ‘blend Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore’. It definitely sounds right up my street! I have to say that I think the cover is rather ugly, especially given how gorgeous the ‘Throne of Glass’ covers are, but hey-ho. It may look better in real life, and anyway, I’m sure the content within will be great.

‘Lady Midnight’ by Cassandra Clare

Expected Publication – September 2015

This is the first book of ‘The Dark Artifices’ series, the latest of Cassandra Clare’s series set in her Shadowhunter world, and it will follow Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn, whom we are introduced to in the last of ‘The Mortal Instruments’ series, ‘City of Heavenly Fire’. If you are a fan of ‘The Mortal Instruments‘ and/or ‘The Infernal Devices‘, then I’m sure you’re eagerly awaiting this one too. If you have not read a Cassandra Clare book before, I recommend picking up ‘City of Bones’ immediately, then getting up-to-date so that you can be anticipating this book. There is currently no set release date or cover, so fingers crossed it does not get pushed back into 2016. This is very near the top of my list of most anticipated books.

UPDATE – I must have jinxed it, as it was recently announced that the release of this was pushed back to March 2016.

‘Untitled Throne of Glass Book #4’ by Sarah J. Maas

Expected Publication – 10th September 2015

This is the second Sarah J. Maas book on this list and I think that this one is my most anticipated release of the year. I have become a massive fan of Sarah J. Maas’s ‘Throne of Glass’ series (find my review of the first book here), and I was not 100 per cent satisfied with ‘Heir of Fire’, the third book. I read the third instalment in October, just to realise that I had damned myself to an 11 month wait for the next instalment. It doesn’t even have a cover or name yet! This doesn’t change how desperate I am to get hold of this one; I am waiting very impatiently right now. A tip if you have not read this series yet, start it immediately! Or be clever and start it just before this book is released, so that you don’t have the excruciating wait (this logic is damned by the fact that there are two more books after this one, so you’ll be waiting anyway). Either way, read it, as I highly recommend it.

‘The Sword of Summer’ by Rick Riordan

Expected Publication – 6th October 2015

Rick Riordan has covered Greek and Egyptian mythology, and now he is tackling Norse mythology in his new series, ‘Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard’. I haven’t finished an entire Riordan series yet, but what I have read of his works, I love, and it is a target of mine to complete both his ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ and ‘The Heroes of Olympus’ series next year, and I have had my eye on his ‘Kane Chronicles’ for what seems like forever, so reading this book would fit in perfectly with what may become a Rick Riordan marathon year.

‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell

Expected Publication – 6th October 2015

Yes, fans of ‘Fangirl’, she is writing it! Rainbow Rowell recently announced that she would be writing a book entitled ‘Carry On’, which was the name of the fanfiction that Cath writes in the book ‘Fangirl’. Essentially, we are getting a story about Simon Snow, the ‘Harry Potter’ style character whose life we get glimpses of in ‘Fangirl’. I was delighted when I heard this news, as ‘Fangirl’ is one of my favourite books, so I cannot wait to get a greater understanding of Cath’s beloved Simon Snow. It will also be more fantasy than Rowell’s other books, and as I much prefer fantasy to contemporary, this may well be perfect for me.

‘The Rose Society’ by Marie Lu

Expected Publication – 6th October 2015

It looks like a lot of good books are set to be published on the 6th October! I’ll be broke that month, it seems. ‘The Young Elites’ was a very promising first instalment of a series (See my full review here), and I am intrigued to continue on with the trilogy in the hope that it gets better and better. I like how the protagonist of this series is actually rather twisted and complex, and therefore the series has an underlying dark tone to it. I want some answers for that epilogue too, so this book couldn’t come fast enough.

‘The Copper Gauntlet’ by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Expected Publication – 2015

Well, the publication date is very specific here isn’t it? *Sarcasm*. This is not the first appearance for either author on this list, which indicates how both are ‘auto-buy’ authors for me. This is the sequel to ‘The Iron Trial’, the first of their ‘Magisterium’ series, about a boy who does not want to go to mage school. Even though this is really a children’s book aimed at an audience younger than me, I very much enjoyed ‘The Iron Trial’, and I thought that the ending left the potential to lead perfectly into the second book. As soon as I finished the first book, I wanted to read the second, which is problematic given that I read the first one day after its release date. Bring on ‘The Copper Gauntlet’!

‘Passenger’ by Alexandra Bracken

Expected Publication – 2015

Alexandra Bracken’s ‘The Darkest Minds’ was one of the surprise discoveries for me this year. I really loved her writing, and she is an author whom I have begun keeping an eye open for. This will be the first in an unnamed duology, and even though I know near to nothing about it, I am anticipating it down to Bracken’s fabulous writing.

There we have it: the list of my most anticipated releases for 2015. As someone who doesn’t preorder books, and tends to be the last person on every bandwagon available, I’m actually surprised that I have my eye on so many books for the next year. Here’s to empty wallets and full bookshelves.

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

2 thoughts on “My Most Anticipated Books of 2015

  1. Ohhh! I’m anticipating most of these, especially All The Bright Places and a Court of Thorns & Roses! My TBR is through the roof as a book blogger, so I’m personally having trouble deciding my most anticipated reads.

    Nice list! Hope you enjoy all of these books next year!

    ~Mary Claire
    Real Rad Reads

    Like

Leave a Reply

