Updates

Saturday 27th December – Weekly Update

Hello All!

Hope you had a marvellous Christmas! As it has been a rather busy time, I have not got too much reading in, besides the books I read for CramAThon (check out my CramAThon Wrap-Up for my views on those books). Between last Saturday and Christmas Eve, everything I read was in arid of the CramAThon. The best of these books were ‘The Tales of Beedle the Bard’ by J.K. Rowling, ‘PS, I Love You’ by Cecelia Ahern and the novella ‘Night of Cake and Puppets’ by Laini Taylor, all of which I highly recommend. As ‘PS, I Love You’ was a TBR jar pick, I got to choose a new book from my TBR jar, and the book which I have pulled from the jar is ‘The Uninvited’ by Liz Jensen, which will be added on to my January TBR list, if I have not read it by then.

Over Christmas Day and Boxing Day, I read two books which I will not be reviewing in full; ‘The Hobbit: Graphic Novel’ by J.R.R. Tolkien and Chuck Dixon, and ‘The Best of Miranda’, a guide to Miranda Hart’s comedy TV show. I gave both of these 4 stars, but as one is a graphic novel of a classic book and the other is a companion guide to a TV show, I feel that I do not have enough to say about either to write a review. All that has to be said is that they were both good light reads.

I have added three new pages to my site, My RecommendationsMy Reviewed Books and How Do I Rate My Books? My Recommendations is a page where I will list books which I recommend, listed under specific genres (with one final category of books I recommend to everyone). Every time I read a particularly good book which I feel deserves a mention on the page, I will update it to list that book. My Reviewed Books is a page where I will show icons of the covers of every book I have reviewed in full on this site, so that you can quickly see which books have a full review up. Once again, this will be updated as and when I review a new book. (Note: when I say ‘books reviewed in full’, I mean that the book has a review dedicated to it. Books reviewed within wrap-ups do not count). The final new page is How Do I Rate My Books? The title is a little self-explanatory: this page gives a step-by-step guide as to how I rate each of my books, with a checklist of things I look out for in a book, and what it must do to achieve a certain rating. This is for the benefit of anyone who wants to know how I choose what defines a 5 star and a 4 star book, or how I determine whether to round a decimal rating up or down.

I am currently reading two books, ‘My True Love Gave to Me’, an anthology of 12 romance stories by popular young adult authors, edited by Stephanie Perkins, and ‘Forsaken’ by Jana Oliver, my second of the two picks from my TBR jar this month. I would like to get both books finished before the New Year. So far, I am finding ‘Forsaken’ a little tedious and frustrating, but I am determined to finish as I have the bind-up of books one and two, and I want to read both eventually. ‘My True Love Gave to Me’ is going down a lot better; I have finished 4 of the 12 stories, the ones by Rainbow Rowell, Kelly Link, Matt de la Pena and Jenny Han. I am giving each story an individual rating, with the four stories receiving 4.5, 2, 3.5 and 4.5 stars respectively. I have just started Stephanie Perkins’s story, and am looking forward to Holly Black and Laini Taylor’s stories especially.

I am planning to post a haul showing the books that I received for Christmas, and also intend to write a few more posts before the year is over. I am debating whether to write a film review of ‘The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies’, which I saw earlier this month. My concern is that I cannot recall enough to write a detailed review, and that anything I write will be brief. If you want to see this, request it in the comments and I will write up a brief review. I also need to compile my list of my ‘Top 14 Books of 2014’, as well as my January TBR, and possibly a wrap-up of my reading year.

That’s all I have to say right now. Thanks for reading, and if you have any posts that you want to request, drop a comment below and I will be happy to see what I can do.

Emma 🙂

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Leave a Reply

