Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday – Top Wintry Reads

Wednesday has come around again, and it is Christmas Eve! So, fittingly, this week’s Top 5 Wednesday is ‘Top 5 Wintry Books’. Now, as I got into reading again earlier this year (therefore a long time after the last Christmas), I have not read many books specific to Christmas, however I have managed to compile a list of 2 actual wintry books, and 3 that just put me in a festive mood. So here goes!

5. ‘A Christmas Carol’ by Charles Dickens

achristmascarol

I am not a huge Charles Dickens fan, but I am a great supporter of this story being the ultimate classic Christmas book. It is a small book perfect for an evening reading session in front of the fire, and the story of a man beginning to change his attitude for the better in time for Christmas is a beautiful tale which many people know and love.It is just a book that everyone should have read.

4. ‘The Iron Daughter’ by Julie Kagawa

theirondaughter

I have always felt that the best books to read in the winter are fantasies – this is a common idea, yet I’m not entirely sure why I believe it. But I do, so my next pick is the second book in Julie Kagawa’s ‘Iron Fey’ series. I chose this book as opposed to its predecessor, ‘The Iron King’, as even though I think that the first instalment is a better book, a greater portion of this book is set in Tir Na Nog, the home of the Unseelie Court, otherwise known as the Winter fae. The setting is incredibly wintry, with snow and ice all around, so it is easy to feel festive whilst reading this book.

3. ‘Throne of Glass’ by Sarah J. Maas

Throne_of_Glass_UK

As with ‘The Iron Daughter’, this is not strictly a winter book, but there is something about the setting of the glass castle that just makes this book feel a little wintry. The glass castle just reminds me of some kind of ice palace, the white cover makes me think of snow, and as I said before, fantasy is just the perfect genre to read in the winter.

2. ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ by J.K. Rowling

bloomsbury-ps-front2

There is a Christmas-related scene in every ‘Harry Potter’ book, so any of the seven could replace the first as my second place choice, but my logic here is that J.K. Rowling’s Christmas scenes are absolutely magical. The Christmas in ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ stands out to me as a particular favourite, but in general, Christmas is always covered really well in ‘Harry Potter’.

1. ‘Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares’ by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

Dash-and-Lilys-Book-of-Dares-cover

Now, this one is a Christmas book (even if I did read it on my summer holiday in August!). I think that this book is absolutely fantastic; there is a blend of romance, comedy and festive moments and it never failed to put a smile on my face. And let’s face it, the idea of finding a mysterious notebook in your favourite bookstore telling you to fulfil a number of exciting and unique tasks? It is an adventurous book lover’s dream!

This rounds up my Top 5 Wednesday of a host of wintry seasonal reads, and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

Emma 🙂

T5W Goodreads Page – https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

List of T5W Participants – https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1608567-complete-list-of-wednesday-ers

T5W Creator Lainey’s YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey

My Twitter – @emmathereader

My Tumblr – https://www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

My Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Leave a Reply

