Discussions and Tags

The Bookish Scenarios Tag

Hi All!

The Bookish Scenarios Tag is another tag video doing the rounds on YouTube. I’ve thought quite a bit about the questions, I’ve come up with my answers and I’m going to discuss them here and now.

1. You have to get rid of all your books and you can only keep one from each of these genres – contemporary, fantasy, non-fiction and one other genre of your choosing. What books do you keep?

My contemporary book of choice would be ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time’ by Mark Haddon – this is one of my favourite books of all time, and considering how much I dislike contemporaries centred around romance as a general rule, that narrows down the market significantly.

curious

My fantasy book is harder to choose, as fantasy is my favourite genre. I’m going to stick with a book from the classic fantasy author and say ‘The Hobbit’ by J.R.R. Tolkien. I do like ‘The Lord of the Rings’ but I always have preferred ‘The Hobbit’.

The-Hobbit-flat-cover

I read very little non-fiction, and if I was saving very few books, I doubt any of them would be non-fiction. However I am going to select ‘The Book of Big Excuses’ by Tracey Turner, a comedic compilation of some of the best excuses of all time. I read this when I was very young, and have re-read it more than any other book (my copy is coincidentally the most damaged book on my shelf due to the amount of times I have dropped it in the bath), and even now, I will find myself re-reading it to cheer me up.

7703533

My other category is going to be children’s books, and I am of course going to choose a ‘Harry Potter’ book. I would be devastated to lose most of the series, but the one which I will always save is ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’, purely as it means a lot to me.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Prisoner_of_Azkaban

2. You’re at the bookstore and you hear a teenager telling their mum they don’t like to read, but their mum insists they pick something. You walk over and recommend a book you think is great for people who aren’t big on reading – what book is it?

The first thing that crosses my mind is whether this teenager is male or female, and also what they are like as a person; of course, different types of people read different things, and it is practically impossible to generalise whether a person who you know nothing about would like a particular book. It took me a while to reach my answer, but I am going to say ‘A Monster Calls’ by Patrick Ness. This book is a bit of contemporary, a bit of fantasy and a lot of heart-wrenching moments, and I feel that even if they do not enjoy the entire book, there will be something in the story which will appeal, whoever the person is.

images (2)

3. You’re not feeling yourself and need a pick me up. Which book do you read to put yourself in a great mood?

Usually when I feel down, I read a book that I have not read before, as the ultimate pick-me-up would be finding a new favourite, however if I have to suggest a book that I have read before, then it is impossible to look beyond ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone‘; this book was my childhood, and I will read it whenever I want to reminisce or make myself even slightly happier.

bloomsbury-ps-front2

4. You go back in time for a day to your teenage years. What book would you most likely have caught yourself reading?

Now would be a good time to mention that I am still a teenager myself, so I am going to change this to going back in time to before I got back into reading regularly this year. The book I was most probably reading is ‘Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging’, or any book in the ‘Georgia Nicholson’ series by Louise Rennison. I spent a lot of time reading these books a few years ago, and I always aspired to be as cool and likeable as Georgia’s friend Rosie. Needless to say, it never happened….

51T9B8933QL

5. Your friend surprises you with a 4 day trip and you have 1 hour to pack. Which book do you bring to read on the way?

How I would love a friend like this! I would choose an average-length book, as I would be worried that a small book would get finished too early on in the journey (well, no, realistically I would take about 10 but still). The book that I would select right now is ‘Waves’ by Sharon Dogar. I have been meaning to read this for a while, and it is not too long, so it would be near the top of my list for the journey.

waves

6. Your house has been robbed! Don’t worry – everyone is safe, but your bookshelf has been raided. What’s the book you really hope is safe?

If – God forbid – my bookshelf was raided, I would immediately go in search of my copy of ‘Silksinger’ by Laini Taylor. This book is out of print, and it took me many months and more money than I would often spend on a book just to get hold of it, so if it was taken, I would be fuming at the expense and hardship of having to get another copy, especially as the ‘Dreamdark’ books are favourites of mine.

9780399246319_p0_v1_s260x420

7. Your friend borrows a book and returns it in awful condition. Do you a) Just pretend you haven’t noticed; b) Ask them to repurchase it; or c) Secretly do the same to something of theirs?

I do not lend my books out, apart from to my dad and my best friend. If my dad damaged it, then he would have to repurchase it, but if it was my best friend, or any other friend (not that I’d lend to them), then I would probably not mention it, as I would hate to get confrontational. I buy most of my books secondhand with damaged spines and not in the best conditions anyway, as I do not mind a slightly scruffy book, so many times it wouldn’t even be worth my comment, but even if it was pretty severe, I would probably pretend that I had not noticed.

That is it for the Bookish Scenarios Tag. Thanks for reading, and I tag everyone reading this who has a blog or YouTube channel to do this tag themselves. Off you go!

Twitter @emmathereader

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

