Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Top Re-Reads

It is Wednesday once again (time is flying right now!) and it is therefore time for another Top 5 Wednesday! This week’s topic is ‘top 5 re-reads’. Now, I do not re-read books very often, if at all; I think that reading something that I have already read is wasting time when I could be reading new things! If a new book in a series comes out, I read a recap for the previous book(s), or I just read the sequel and hope that I remember everything. I do not participate in read-alongs very often, so rarely is there a requirement to read a book that I have already read. The only instances that I do re-read is if the book is literally in my top 10 books of all time, or if I am required to for assignments. For these reasons, I found this list very hard to compile, and not everything on here has been re-read due to enjoyment, but due to assigned reading. Let’s begin on the list!

5. ‘Clockwork Angel’ by Cassandra Clare

CA_cover

This book is one that I re-read not because I loved it, but because I was hoping that the second read would boost my opinion of it. I read this in the summer of 2013, as a friend of mine had been reading ‘Clockwork Princess’ on a trip to Spain. When I returned to the UK, I went to Waterstones to buy the first book in the series. I tried getting into ‘Clockwork Angel’ but I just couldn’t. By the time I had finished the book (albeit with a lot of skimming) I was downright fed up of it. I hated Will and Tessa, I hated the historical setting, I generally didn’t understand the concepts of the Shadowhunters (I feel that ‘The Infernal Devices’ assumes that everyone has read ‘The Mortal Instruments’, and so lacks vital description for people who have not read any of Clare’s other books). It was because I hated this book so much that I was reluctant to pick up ‘City of Bones’ when my best friend urged me to. I eventually did, and ‘The Mortal Instruments’ became a firm favourite, so I went back to ‘The Infernal Devices’ to complete the series. I probably disliked it more the second time around, although I did have a greater appreciation for the characters besides the awful Will and Tessa, which I didn’t have the first time around.

4. ‘Great Expectations’ by Charles Dickens

greatexpectations

This book is the perfect example of what I said above about not re-reading for enjoyment, but for school. I first read this book when I was in Year 6 at school (aged 10). Yes, I was very young to be challenging it, but my reading age was rather advanced. I finished the book, and I did not enjoy it much; the story was okay, but Dickens spends an incredibly long amount of time describing insignificant little details, and it amounts to a slog of a book. Two years later, I decided that I was maybe a little young to have read it, and maybe I would enjoy it more the second time around. I finished it easier, but my thoughts stayed pretty much the same. So imagine my pain when I discovered that our GCSE syllabus contained an essay on ‘Great Expectations’: I was so annoyed! This essay required another 6 or so months’ worth of reading and re-reading elements repeatedly, which was not pleasant for me. This analysis did give me a bit more appreciation for the book, but ultimately, it will always be one of my least favourites.

3. ‘I Am Number Four’ by Pittacus Lore

i-am-number-four1

When I was in my early teens, this book was my absolute favourite. It is the first book on this list that I re-read due to how much I loved it, rather than due to an obligation or expectation. I am not sure how many times I have re-read this book, but it is probably quite a few. I am currently re-reading it again, as I never read the sequel ‘The Power of Six’, which I own, and now that there are multiple books in the series, I have decided to dive back into the world, as I truly do enjoy it.

2. ‘Before Green Gables’ by Budge Wilson

bgg3

As a child, I liked Lucy Maud Montgomery’s  ‘Anne of Green Gables’, but I was completely in love with Budge Wilson’s prequel ‘Before Green Gables’. It follows Anne from her birth to the beginning of ‘Anne of Green Gables‘, A time of her life which I found more fascinating. We hear in the original story how Anne’s early years were difficult, but it isn’t until this book where we find out exactly what happened to her, and it is these events which I appreciate most. It was a thrilling story to me, and I would often just pick it up and read my favourite bits before I went to sleep.

1. ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’ by J.K. Rowling (and all of the ‘Harry Potter’ books!)

Harry_Potter_and_the_Prisoner_of_Azkaban

If this top 5 was truly consisting of my most re-read books, then all 5 answers would be books from the ‘Harry Potter’ series. It was the first book series I got into, when I was very young (‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ may be the first proper book I ever read). I have always adored this series, and re-reading it feels like greeting a familiar friend! These are the only books that I always have done, and still do, re-read regularly. ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’ is my favourite, and is therefore the book I have read the most – I have taken it everywhere with me: on holiday, to friends’ and grandparents’, and to hospital when I went in for both of my operations – but I would happily re-read any of the books at any given time (although I read the last two less often as they are mu least favourites). This is a series which I know many people will have on their lists, and one which I doubt I will stop re-reading any time soon.

There we have it, my top 5 most re-read books (top 11 if you count the ‘Harry Potter’ books separately!). That rounds off my Top 5 Wednesday. Check below for some important T5W links, and goodbye for now!

List of Top 5 Wednesday participants – https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1608567-complete-list-of-wednesday-ers

Goodreads group – https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

Creator Lainey’s Youtube channel – https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey

My Social Media –

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Leave a Reply

