Discussions and Tags

Would You Rather? Book Edition

The ‘Would You Rather?’ book tag is incredibly popular, and whilst watching my 207384220th of these kinds of video on YouTube (okay, that’s a teensy exaggeration) I realised that I had set answers in my head to all of the questions, and that I really should do this tag myself, so here we go!

1. Would you rather only read trilogies or only read stand-alones?

Easy answer for me – trilogies. Firstly, most of the books I read are series, and I feel that with more books, you get the opportunity for more plot progression or character development. Secondly, I am a big fantasy and sci-fi fan, whilst actively hating romantic contemporaries. What books are often trilogies? Fantasy sci-fis. What books are often stand-alones? Romantic contemporaries. It is very hard to find fantasy stand-alones as they just require more world-building and greater depth and detail, which would be vastly lacking in a stand-alone, so I’d much rather invest in a trilogy to get all of that detail.

2. Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I think that this question is pretty ridiculous as I rarely look at the gender of the author whose book I am reading. I have some favourite female authors (J.K Rowling, Cecelia Ahern, Cassandra Clare, Laini Taylor, Julie Kagawa, Holly Black) and some favourite male authors (John Green, David Levithan, Rick Riordan, Patrick Ness, J.R.R Tolkien), so I am just going to have to base this on the quantity of books per gender on my favourites list. If we are going by this principle, then female authors tops it (mainly thanks to ‘Harry Potter’). This question would mean sacrificing the likes of ‘Percy Jackson’, ‘The Hobbit‘ and the John Green books however, which upsets me greatly.

3. Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

Firstly, I am British and have never been to America in my life, so substitute Barnes and Noble for Waterstones or WHSmith, where I buy my books on the high street. It doesn’t make a difference to my answer anyway, as I have to say Amazon. Firstly, I buy a lot of books that are bigger in the US than in the UK, or written by US authors, which means that they are not always stocked in UK bookstores, so I have to order them in online. Also, I do try to buy hardcovers if they are cheap, and the UK bookshops stock 90% of their books in paperback only, so that requires ordering too. There are also series like Laini Taylor’s ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ which are a lot prettier in the US editions, so to obtain them in the UK, online ordering is required. Finally, I am a lazy, broke cheapskate who does not mind secondhand items, so I order the majority of my books from Amazon Marketplace to save a lot of money. Failing online ordering, I would still resort to charity shops before I bought books full price in stores, as I simply do not have the money to buy everything that I want to read for full price.

4. Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

I know that a lot of people say TV shows for this, simply due to the fact that TV shows can contain so much more content than a film. I am going to have to disagree and say movies. I do not watch TV; I rarely care enough to dedicate multiple hours to watching back-to-back episodes of the same thing, and I would never marathon the episodes as I would get so bored. Also, only getting 30 minutes to an hour of the show at a time and having to wait between episodes and series would absolutely kill me, as I have very little patience. Also, while I would love to see my favourite books made with 100% accuracy in a TV show, I do sometimes prefer the adaptations that movies present (i.e. ‘The Hunger Games’ movies). Giving a movie crew the artistic licence to adapt and make drastic changes can sometimes produce something brilliant (not saying that this doesn’t happen in TV, but they tend to stick closer to the books as they have more time to get it spot on). My final point is that I would much rather have the experience of watching a film début in cinemas, as it is so much more exciting than watching a brand new episode at home in front of the TV.

5. Would you rather only read 5 pages per day or 5 books a week?

Why is this even a question? 5 books per week, obviously! In holidays or when I have limited studying to do (which is rare at the moment unfortunately) I can get through 5 books a week with relative ease. I have had sick days where I have read three books in a day, as I did back in September with ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell, ‘Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters’ by Rick Riordan and ‘The Rosie Effect’ by Graeme Simsion. As I read relatively quickly, 5 books a week is achievable for me, and when I do this, it seriously helps my TBR pile, so 5 books a week wins without a shadow of a doubt.

6. Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Author. Ever since I was a very young girl (about 5 or 6) it has been my ultimate dream to be an author. I do write a lot in my spare time (or used to before studying…) and it is a dream that I am definitely going to pursue in the future. I love reviewing, but being an author is where my heart lies, and always has done.

7. Would you rather read your top 20 books over and over for the rest of your life or always read a new book?

This answer pains me, but always read a new book. I read ‘Harry Potter’ over and over again, and have reread ‘I Am Number Four’ by Pittacus Lore and Budge Wilson’s ‘Before Green Gables’ many times as well, but if I were to add up all of the books that I have read more than 3 times, I’m not sure that I could reach 10, let alone 20. I just do not like rereading books, especially with so many books on my TBR that I am dying to conquer. I am just not a fan of reading the same book multiple times (unless it is ‘Harry Potter’) and I rarely ever do it, and so for this reason, I have to say always read a new book.

8. Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

I’m not enamoured by either profession to be perfectly honest, as retail kinds of jobs such as bookseller do not appeal to me, but I’d find being a librarian incredibly dull. I’d have to say a bookseller through, as the silence in the library thing would kill me before my first day was over! I just think that being a bookseller would be more fascinating.

9. Would you rather read only your favourite genre, or every other genre but your favourite?

This is the most horrible question on here! As I love sci-fi, fantasy and those moralistic kinds of contemporary in equal measures, I am going to call sci-fi my favourite genre, and say read every genre but my favourite. Genre classification is quite broad, and many of my favourite elements in sci-fi could be classed as paranormal, dystopian, mystery or fantasy, so I would try and push the boundaries of classification to get as many sci-fi books squeezed into other genres as possible, and failing that, I would still have my fantasy favourites to help me get by.

10. Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

I often find that I struggle to get through a book – however much I love it – if it is in an ebook format. I just find reading a lot more enjoyable if you actually have a physical copy of the book. Of course, they are a hassle to transport, but I do not mind, as I am not only a fan of reading books, but a fan of collecting them, and I wouldn’t trade in my physical copies for anything, so I can easily say physical books all the way.

There we have it: my attempt at the ‘Would You Rather?’ tag! As I have never tagged anyone and never been tagged myself, I am going to say here that if you are reading this and you have your own blog or YouTube channel, GO AHEAD and do this tag as, for the first time ever, I tag all of you! Go!

Twitter @emmathereader

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

One thought on “Would You Rather? Book Edition

Leave a Reply

