Updates

Saturday 6th December – Weekly Update

Hi all!

It’s December, and we are all getting into the Christmas spirit… or not. I’m not feeling in a particularly festive mood yet, and to top it off, I don’t have many (if any) Christmas books that I have not read, so I suppose that it’s not going to get particularly festive on this blog.

This week was an average reading week, given the amount of studying I have been doing, and the volunteer job I started this morning. I completed ‘The 5th Wave’ by Rick Yancey, as I had intended to (review here). I loved this book, and I really wish that I wasn’t broke so that I could start ‘The Infinite Sea’ immediately, but hey ho. I also finished ‘Wonder’ by R.J. Palacio, which was an impulse buy and read. I really enjoyed this book, although it had its faults, and I will probably be getting a review up soon (update: review can be found here). My edition of ‘Wonder’ also contains the ‘Julian Chapter’ short story, which I will be mentioning in my ‘Wonder’ review; I do not review short stories often, but I do have strong feelings on this.

I also read a couple of eBooks. The first was a very, very brief short story by Sophie Kinsella called ‘Six Geese A-Laying’, which was apparently a Christmas novella, although it was not festive at all apart from its December setting and the loose ‘A Christmas Carol’ premise. The ideas were good, but it was literally only about 20 pages, and there was so little substance that I am not entirely sure of its point. I gave this 2 stars. The next eBook that I read was ‘Spying in High Heels’ by Gemma Halliday. This (and the Kinsella story) were both free on iBooks, and so I decided to give this book a chance. It was actually okay. The story and the protagonist, Maddie, were both absolutely ridiculous, to the point that I was actually laughing out loud at the stupidity quite frequently. Saying that, I actually thoroughly enjoyed reading it; it was a light book that is not to be taken too seriously, and makes a decent relaxed read. I gave this 3.25 stars, rounded to 3 (side note: I wish that Goodreads would allow for half-star reviews. It would make my life a lot easier).

That rounds up everything that I have read this week. I have just started ‘PS, I Love You’ by Cecelia Ahern, so hopefully that will feature on next week’s round-up. I’m now heading off to write up my ‘Wonder’ review and maybe do a tag or two.

Thanks for reading!

Emma 🙂

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Leave a Reply

