Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Top Series Titles

It is Wednesday, and that makes it Top 5 Wednesday! This week’s topic is ‘Top 5 Series Titles’. I had to put a lot of thought into this one, as I never really focus on the titles of a series. Also, the series title is commonly the title of the first book in that series, and I think that this is incredibly boring and unimaginative. I have found 5 series titles that I am particularly fond of, but I also found that I have very little to say about them, as I literally like the titles for no reason! So here are my top 5 series titles:

5. ‘The Infernal Devices’ by Cassandra Clare

I like the title of this series; it is imaginative and I have not come across any similarly-named series before. Saying  that, this is one of my least favourite completed series. The books are ‘Clockwork Angel’, ‘Clockwork Prince’ and ‘Clockwork Princess’. The books’ individual titles are not as good in my eyes, as I think that it can get confusing between them, what with them all starting with ‘Clockwork’. I do however like the name ‘Infernal Devices’ quite a bit.

CA_cover

4. ‘Faeries of Dreamdark’ by Laini Taylor

Many people have heard of or read Laini Taylor’s ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ trilogy or her award-winning ‘Lips Touch: Three Times’, but I really wish that I knew of more people who have read her ‘Dreamdark’ faerie books. Taylor’s first book, ‘Blackbringer’, is a fantastic start to the series, and I liked it more than I did ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’. I am yet to read book two, ‘Silksinger’, as it is hard to find these books in the States, let alone here in England, but I want to pick it up soon. I love this series title, as I think that it is unique and sounds rather nice to say, yet it does summarise the books well with no confusion or misleading word choices; It gets to the point whilst still sounding eloquent. All I wish is that Taylor would return to this project, as she did put it on hold to write other things.

51JhSfp94oL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

3. ‘Chaos Walking’ by Patrick Ness

I have yet to read this trilogy, even though I own book 1, so I cannot comment on the strength of the series, but what I can compliment is its titles, both for the individual books and the series overall. I think that ‘Chaos Walking’ fits perfectly with the story that I have heard about in reviews, and it is a short, snappy and memorable name. The individual book titles, ‘The Knife of Never Letting Go’, ‘The Ask and the Answer’ and ‘Monsters of Men’ are all fantastic titles, specially the first and second ones.

knifeofneverlettinggo

2. ‘Lorien Legacies’ by Pittacus Lore

I’m not going to deny that the first book in this series, ‘I Am Number Four’, holds a very special place in my heart, but I truly love the series title, as well as the names of all of the books. I cannot describe why I love this title (and it may well be subconsciously influenced by my love for the first book) but it sticks in my mind as a particular favourite.

i-am-number-four1

1. ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ by George R.R. Martin

Commonly called the ‘Game of Thrones’ series (thanks to its TV adaptations), I love the ‘proper’ title to this series. It is effective and memorable, and I love the contrast between the ice and the fire. It works well in the context of the books, and my perfectionist mind likes how all of the individual books’ titles begin with ‘A…’ (saying this, the forthcoming book 6 is called ‘The Winds of Winter’, and I take umbrage to this).This is a series title that I hope doesn’t get lost among those calling it the ‘Game of Thrones’ series, as I am a massive supporter of books sticking to their original titles, and it would be a shame for this series title to be lost to its less imaginative counterpart.

Game-of-Thrones-Tie-in-Cover-a-song-of-ice-and-fire-20154638-794-1213

That’s all for my Top 5 Wednesday post! Check out here to see the Goodreads list of Top 5 Wednesday participants and here for the creator Lainey’s YouTube channel.

Thanks for reading!

My social media:

Twitter: @emmathereader

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr: www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

