Discussions and Tags

The ‘Finish That Series’ Challenge

I was watching bethjune327‘s YouTube video ‘Finish That Series Challenge’, where she talked about wanting to challenge herself to complete more series in 2015 (check it out via the links above!). In my ‘Completed Series’ post, I talked about all of the series that I have completed in the past or am up to date with the publication for, and I am kind of ashamed by that number. I have a habit of picking book series up and then abandoning them after book one, even if I loved them. I have decided that this shall be remedied. I am going to target myself by Beth’s badges system, and aim to hit the gold badge (7-11 completed) or the platinum badge (12+ completed), as it is about time that I got some serious series completion going! Below, I am going to outline some series that I hope to finish this year, along with the rules of the challenge.

The Rules

1. You must have finished reading the series between January 1st and December 31st 2015 in order for them to count.
2. If the series isn’t complete yet, you must read up to the most recent book in said series.
3. Novellas (or extensions to the original series) are optional.
4. You do not have to start the series in 2015, just finish it.
5. The series has to have at least 2 books out prior to December of 2015.

The Badges: Bronze – 1 to 3 series; Silver – 4 to 6 series; Gold – 7 to 11 series; Platinum – 12+ series

My Series To Complete Ideas

1. ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ by Rick Riordan

I have already read the first three instalments of this series, and own all five, but I promised my best friend that I would not read on with the series before she has bought the fourth book. I am ashamed that I never read this series when I was younger, and I only started it this year, however I am still loving it despite being older than its target audience. When I have finally read ‘Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth’ and ‘Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian’, I can continue the Rick Riordan spree by completing…

2. ‘The Heroes of Olympus’ by Rick Riordan

These books are set in the same world as ‘Percy Jackson’, but for a slightly older audience. I rated the first two ‘Percy Jackson’ books 4 stars out of five, as I loved them, but they did feel a little too young for me at times. ‘Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse’ did pick up, and received 5 stars, but as this series is slightly more YA than its companion series, I think that I may enjoy it a bit more, and I cannot wait to start this one.

3. ‘Legend’ by Marie Lu

This is the prime example of why I never finish series: I read ‘Legend’ in September, loved it, then never debated picking up ‘Prodigy’ despite my love for the first book. There are only two more books in this trilogy to read, so I think that this can easily be completed.

4. ‘Lorien Legacies’ by Pittacus Lore

I read ‘I Am Number Four’ when it first came out, and it became my favourite book of all time (besides ‘Harry Potter’ of course). To this day, it has a special place in my heart. I bought the second book ‘The Power of Six’ on its release, but I just never read it, for reasons that I cannot even fathom. I am determined to read the second instalment ASAP, before moving on to the rest of this five-part series. For a first book that I loved so much, I feel that I owe it to the series to finish it next year.

5 and 6. ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ AND ‘Faeries of Dreamdark’ by Laini Taylor

I love what I have read of Laini Taylor’s books, with ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ and ‘Blackbringer’ both making it onto my favourite books list. The second and third books in the ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ trilogy have been on my ‘to buy’ list for a while, but I am collecting the gorgeous US hardcovers, and it is both difficult and expensive to get them in the UK. When I eventually get these two, I will be reading them instantly. Taylor’s ‘Dreamdark’ series has a similar issue – it is hard to get the second book, ‘Silksinger’, anywhere, as I believe that the book is out of print. What makes it difficult to completely finish this series is the fact that Laini Taylor herself hasn’t finished the series; she stopped writing it after book two to move onto other projects. I hope to have the first two books completed, and keep my fingers crossed that a third instalment is eventually published.

7. ‘The Iron Fey’ by Julie Kagawa

I loved ‘The Iron King’, and really liked ‘The Iron Daughter’, so hopefully this series will be just as enjoyable. I do own all four original ‘Iron Fey’ books, as well as one of the spin-off pair about Meghan’s brother Ethan and the novella bind-up, however I am not counting the novellas or Ethan’s series in this challenge, only the original four books. Therefore, I need to complete ‘The Iron Queen’ and ‘The Iron Knight’ before the year is out.

8. ‘Vampire Academy’ by Richelle Mead

This series is one where I actually did pick up book two and read it! ‘Vampire Academy’ is such a big series that I feel like I should complete is as soon as possible. I actually did not love either of the first two books, which as far as I have read, but I am optimistic that as Rose grows as a character, she may become more likeable (and I need to read more Dimitri!). There are four books to go in this one, so I may not get through them all, but if I set the challenge to complete them all, it may encourage me to make swifter progress.

That summarises a list of series that I will aspire to complete in the upcoming year. I probably won’t get there as I am a shambles at completing challenges, but now that I have it down in writing, I may be more motivated to achieve my goal.

Thanks for reading,

Emma 🙂

Social Media –

Twitter: @emmathereader

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr: www.snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

2 thoughts on “The ‘Finish That Series’ Challenge

  1. This sounds like a lot of fun! Only I have the same problem.. I forget that the first book is a series haha. Well I would love to take part ^_^! Cool idea

    Like

Leave a Reply

