Discussions and Tags

Most Embarrassing Unread Books Tag

We all have books that we feel that we should have read. Maybe your best friend raves about it. Maybe it has been on your TBR pile forever. Or maybe you are literally the last person in the world ever to read this book. I have so many books that I hate myself for not having finished. This is mainly due to the colossal size of my TBR pile, or because I can literally own a book for years and years before I read it, or because I tend to read things after they have become popular. So I have drawn up a list of 5 books that I really think that I should have read by now. Four of these, I own. Two of these, I have started. All of these, I really should have read by now.

5. ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen

18698786

This book makes it onto this list for many reasons. Firstly, as it is a classic that I feel every female on the planet seems to love. Secondly, as I actually started it, and got 15% into it. And finally, as it is in fact a set book for my English Literature A-Level exam this coming summer. Oops. Long story short, I have started this book many times before, and I just never got into it. It is primarily romance (which I hate) and I really hate Elizabeth Bennett as a character. I know that it is necessary that I read this before my exam however, so this will not remain on my list for too long.

4. ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ by Stephanie Perkins

17453983

This book is so big in the YA-sphere at the moment. I actually own ‘Isla and the Happily Ever After’, but not this one. I know that I will get around to it eventually, but I just seem to put off buying it, as it is a YA contemporary romance book, and that is quite possibly my least favourite genre. I still feel bad that I have not read it, though. Although saying this, I think that the love interest in ‘Lola and the Boy Next Door’ sound more my kind of thing, so I may well read this for the sole intention of reaching the second one.

3. ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak

20737476

In my defence, I am about a quarter of the way through this. I have, however, put it down and have not picked it up in about a month. I go to read it with the intention of finishing it, and I then proceed to put it down after about 5 pages. This is very bad, especially as I am desperate to see the movie, but I will not break my principle of not seeing a film until I have read the book.

2. ‘The Power of Six’ by Pittacus Lore

8659601

This is a complete unfathomable disaster for me. ‘I Am Number Four’ has been one of my favourite books of all time, ever since I read it just after it was released. I have owned ‘The Power of Six’ for literally years and years. Despite the fact that I truly adore the first book, for some reason I have never gotten past page two of the sequel. This isn’t really a big one to most people, but for me it a crime which I need to remedy very soon.

1. ‘Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth’ by Rick Riordan

18463652

I know, I know, it is awful that I have never finished ‘Percy Jackson’. If it is confessions time, I only read books 1-3 between September and October of this year, after receiving the box set for my birthday. When I was the perfect age to read these books, I was in my massive ‘Harry Potter’ phase when I just didn’t read anything but ‘Harry Potter’, even though I had read them all so many times I couldn’t count. Now, I have jumped on the bandwagon and read the first three books. However, I have a reason for not having conquered the fourth book yet; I promised my best friend that I would not read it until she owned it, so we could read it together. We made this deal in early October, and she has made no progress as to buying the book, so I am prevented from continuing. I promise that on the first opportunity, I will drop everything else and read this book first.

Twitter @emmathereader

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr https://snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

2 thoughts on “Most Embarrassing Unread Books Tag

Leave a Reply

