Adult Book Reviews · Book Reviews 2014 · Fantasy Books · The Indie Corner

‘Dragon Knight and the Heart’s Blood Curse’ by Diane Rapp

While sleeping off a large meal, Dragon is rudely awakened by a foul-tempered witch named Bellatrix. She uses the Heart’s Blood Curse to transform Dragon into a knight. To reverse the horrid Heart’s Blood Curse, Dragon is forced on a quest he knows little about. He must journey by foot to Castle Trelfor and perform a brave deed for the castle’s young sorceress. Once the task is complete, the witch will grant him one spell, and he can become a magnificent dragon once again.

2 Stars

*I received a copy of this book for free via Goodreads Giveaways*

I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway, and now that I have finished it, I think that it is about time that I actually post a review for one of the books that I have won in a giveaway!  This book sounded right up my alley, the main story was only 194 pages (there were two unrelated short stories bulking it up to normal paperback size), so I was really excited to give it a shot. Upon finishing this, I’m not entirely sure what to think.

It has to be said that Diane Rapp’s writing was consistently good. She knows how to phrase a book to try and keep people’s attention, and she transitioned between points of view well. Her writing is worth one of the two stars that I gave this book. Saying that, this was not enough for me to enjoy the book.

Reading the synopsis, I thought that the story sounded very clever, and it sounded like the kind of thing that would suit me down to a tee. Dragon transformed into a human, carrying out a task to save the day? Perfect… or so I thought. The concept did start out successfully, until we got to the reasons why the quest was necessary. We were presented with a complicated plot concerning a demon and famous singers changing people into zombies using their music. I just thought that it all got a little bit silly. I wasn’t necessarily confused, but my boredom was making me skim large sections, which in turn meant that I got really rather lost.

Dragon and his travel companion Duncan were nice enough characters, although I think the story (at 194 pages) was too short to get any solid character development for them. Robyn was agitating, as she was so complacent when it came to her magic, even though it could have easily been the downfall of the entire task. I can’t honestly say that I paid much attention to Nicole and Emery’s viewpoint, as I found it quite unnecessary. The transitions between viewpoints was very good, but I’m not actually convinced that they were all necessary points to have. I would have left it at Dragon and Robyn, and maybe seen a bit more of Robyn’s point of view, as for a rather important character, we see very little of her.

Ultimately, I think that this book had a very promising premise, and its writing was good, but the direction the story took just didn’t suit me at all.

 Twitter @emmathereader

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr https://snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

One thought on “‘Dragon Knight and the Heart’s Blood Curse’ by Diane Rapp

Leave a Reply

