Discussions and Tags

The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading Tag

Aside from participating in ‘Top 5 Wednesday’, I haven’t written any tag posts, which is a shame, as I love watching tag videos on YouTube, and actually usually plan out my answers to every tag as I watch it. SO I have decided to actually write out and post these tag answers, and join in with the fun, starting with the Seven Deadly Sins of Reading Tag.

For each of the seven deadly sins, a question will be asked relating to that sin. I will be telling you the book, series or author which I feel best answers that question. Let’s go!

GREED: What is your most expensive and your most inexpensive book?

I have a lot of inexpensive books, as most of my book come from charity shops or are secondhand. If we are excluding the books which I have been given for free, then my most inexpensive books are my old copies of ‘The Mirror Crack’d From Side to Side’, ‘Murder at the Vicarage’ and ‘Mrs McGinty’s Dead’ by Agatha Christie. These copies were all printed in the 70s, and I paid 25p for each of them. They were all acquired in one of the three charity shops around the corner from my house. My most expensive book is trickier to pinpoint. As I said, I buy most of my books secondhand, and very rarely buy brand-new, full-priced copies. I think my most expensive book is my copy of ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ by Laini Taylor. I do not like the UK editions of this series, but I adore the American covers, so I got this book shipped over from America in the US hardcover, which set me back a bit in packaging, as well as the fact that I paid full price for the book itself. I also think that I paid a similar amount for a signed copy of ‘Split Second’ by Sophie McKenzie. The collection of books on my shelf with the most value is my complete Harry Potter signature box set, but that was a present, so it did not set me back the most.

WRATH: What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Cassandra Clare. Easy. I am a huge fan of her ‘Mortal Instruments’ series; I read them all for the first time in May of this year, and I absolutely love them. I also adore ‘The Bane Chronicles’ and ‘The Shadowhunter’s Codex’, and even the first book in her ‘Magisterium’ series with Holly Black. However, I hate ‘The Infernal Devices’. I really, really hate it. This was problematic, as ‘Clockwork Angel’ was in fact the first Cassandra Clare book I picked up, in July of last year. I started it and loathed it, and it put me off of Cassandra Clare’s books so much that I only read ‘The Mortal Instruments’ when my best friend forced me to. I re-read ‘The Infernal Devices’ earlier this year, and I could tolerate it a little bit more, but I feel that it is dreadful in comparison to all of her other work, and am baffled that most people think that it is her best work. The central characters of Tessa and Will are both insufferable, especially the awful Will. Cecily, Gabriel and Jessamine are no better. I got so bored of the plot in an incredibly short space of time, and there are historical inaccuracies that bug me whenever I come across them. It still to this day confuses me that I can hate one of her series so much, yet love the other, even though they are set in the same world.

GLUTTONY: What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

I do not often reread books; I usually only do so if I need to know a fact or moment from it for some reason, or if it is one of my favourite books of all time. It is just a personal preference; I like to spend my time reading new things rather than old ones (especially with my colossal TBR pile). So if I read a book over and over again with no shame whatsoever, it has to hold a pretty big place in my heart. And the ‘Harry Potter‘ series does. I could be accused of being in a fair few fandoms, but ‘Harry Potter‘ is the one closest to my heart. I grew up reading the series, and it means a lot to me. It is for this reason that I have no shame reading it so often. The book in particular that I read the most frequently is ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’, as I have fond memories around that books, although ‘Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix’ and ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ run pretty close behind. Am I ashamed of the amount I reread these books? God, no.

SLOTH: What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

I have a pretty massive TBR pile, so I could argue a lot of books here. But I am going to choose ‘Under the Dome’ by Stephen King. It really interests me, and I have started ‘Cell’ by the same author and am enjoying it, so I know that I like his writing. However, ‘Under the Dome’ is a brick of a book, with around 1000 pages, and I do not want to invest in it if I do not have the time to finish it. Although saying that, it could just be a consequence of my extreme laziness when it comes to reading large books. I like reading books in a day or two, so I will choose books with under 550 pages, as it does not take me more than a couple of days to read them if I am invested. I keep on pushing ‘Under the Dome’ to the back, but I hope I will get to it over Christmas or Easter.

PRIDE: What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

I rarely talk about books to seem intellectual, I just talk about different books to different audiences. When talking about books to my best friend, we will discuss mutual favourites like ‘Harry Potter’ or ‘The Hunger Games’. When discussing with my other friends (all boys), I will reference ‘A Game of Thrones’ or ‘The Lord of the Rings’. I suppose that if I talk to an older person such as my English teachers about reading, I will mention classic books and plays, and occasionally poetry, but I rarely do talk about books for the purpose of looking intellectual. If I had to name something, I would say the poetry of Alfred Tennyson, which I am particularly keen on at the moment.

LUST: What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

Often not what other people do! A lot of people love the stereotypical attractive characters such as Noah Shaw (‘The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer’) and Will Herondale (‘The Infernal Devices’), but I find these characters far too arrogant and self-centred, and for me, that is the biggest turn-off possible; I associate them with bad morals and lack of care for anyone but themselves. So any characters that I find attractive do not know of their attractiveness (and actually in most cases are not necessarily described as completely good-looking). They usually will have a low sense of self-esteem or confidence, which builds throughout the novel/series. They also usually have a tough outer shell and seem a bit detached from the outside world, but when you get to know the characters, you see their true colours. In YA contemporary fiction, they are never the popular characters. Also, I value humour and intelligence, and think that wit achieved by combining the two is possibly my most important attribute. Examples from recent reads would be Naji in ‘The Assassin’s Curse’, Chaol in ‘Throne of Glass’ and Alec and Simon from ‘The Mortal Instruments’.

ENVY: What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

I would most like to receive a hardcover copy of the US cover of ‘Days of Blood and Starlight’ by Laini Taylor. I loved ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ but am collecting the US hardcovers, as the UK covers are not nice. It has been a couple of months since I read the first book, but I cannot afford to get the second shipped from America, and I can only get it shipped to the UK from the Foyles website at full price, rather than secondhand, so I am waiting for the chance to continue with the series.

That sums up the Seven Deadly Sins of Reading tag! Hope you enjoyed it!

Emma 🙂

Twitter @emmathereader

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr https://snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

