Discussions and Tags

The Completed Series Tag

The Completed Series tag is as easy as it sounds; list all of the series you have completed so far. The problem for me is that I tend to read book 1 and occasionally book 2 of a series, before moving on to another, and forget to return to complete it. This means that I have started so many series and never gotten around to finishing them. Below I will be listing all of the series I know that I have finished, and giving a brief insight into them. I am not including series such as ‘The Lord of the Rings’, where I know that I have read all of it, but can remember so little that I intend to read again at a later date. I am also not counting duologies or books with a solitary sequel.

1. The ‘Harry Potter’ series by J.K. Rowling

bloomsbury-ps-front2

Of course, the first series on this list is ‘Harry Potter’. I grew up reading this series, and I have to say that it holds a bigger place in my heart than any other book I’ve read. I read ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ as soon as it came out, so I have had this series completed since 2007. ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban‘ is my favourite book of the series. I am proud to call myself a ‘Potterhead’ (obsessive fangirl).

2. The ‘Cherub’ series by Robert Muchamore

the-recruit

I know that this series has since been expanded, but I am judging this by the original 12 books centred around James Adams, from ‘The Recruit’ to ‘Shadow Wave’. These books were favourites of mine when I was still in primary school. I loved each and every one of them, and naturally wanted to be a CHERUB agent! I was very satisfied with how the series progressed and ended, and so feel like I do not want to continue onto the second part. For starters, it no longer centres around James, and I just feel that it won’t be the same, so I am not in a rush to read them. I really want to reread the original 12 books, but my brother destroyed my copies so I am no longer in possession of the series. Of the 12, ‘The Recruit’ will always be special to me, and I have recently read the graphic novel adaptation, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

3. The ‘Twilight’ saga by Stephenie Meyer

250px-Twilightbook

The less said here, the better. At the time of reading, I did enjoy ‘Twilight’. ‘Eclipse’ was bearable too, and I must have been one of the only people who was okay with the lack of conflict at the end of ‘Breaking Dawn’. However, in general, these books are poor. I skim-read the entirety of ‘New Moon’ (well, until Edward returned) as I despised Jacob. The same applies to his chapters in ‘Breaking Dawn’. I do have to say that I loved some of the secondary characters in the series, especially Jasper and Carlisle, and I did not really mind Edward in the books. But Jacob and Bella are two of the most insufferable characters I have ever had the displeasure to read about.

4. The ‘Georgia Nicholson’ series by Louise Rennison

51T9B8933QL

Ah, that series which every teenage girl has read at least one of. These were very light reads which I would read over and over again when I was on the cusp of teenage-hood. When I was eleven or so, I would read these books and dream of what it would be like to be a teenager. I can now categorically say that none of the things I thought about have happened yet. And it shocks me to think that Georgia was 14 (I think) at the beginning of this series. It actually depresses me a tad to think that. However, this series was fun while it lasted, and served to indulge my youthful fantasy of how my life would grow to be.

5. ‘The Series of Unfortunate Events’ by Lemony Snicket

6a00e55315ea90883301287660d47e970c

I loved reading all of these books when I was younger. I was very fond of all of the Baudelaire children; I wanted to be Violet, and I wanted Klaus and Sunny as my siblings (which in hindsight would put me in some pretty bleak situations, but I didn’t think of that when I was nine). As with ‘Cherub’, I no longer own any of the series, but I hope that one day I can buy and read them all again.

6. The ‘Malory Towers’ books by Enid Blyton

first-term-at-malory-towers-14

Another childhood series which I was completely addicted to, want to read again and no longer own all of the books of. Along with ‘Harry Potter’, it fuelled my unhealthy obsession with going to boarding school. As with ‘Cherub’, I do not count the second series, written at a later date (and in this instance by another author), which I did not read.

7. ‘The Hunger Games’ by Suzanne Collins

THG-Cover_UK

I have very mixed feeling on ‘The Hunger Games’. I watched the first movie before reading all of the books, and now, having read all of the books and seen both films numerous times, I have to say that this is one of the only instances where I think the film is a lot better than the book. there are instances such as with ‘Divergent’, where I really dislike the books, but thought that the film was okay. However, the ‘Divergent’ film for me just made the book a bit more interesting, it did not actually improve the story. With ‘The Hunger Games’, I feel like the movies add small elements, such as characterisation tweaks and small plot additions, which all amount up to make the story what I would have liked it to be like in the books. In the books, there is not a problem with the story that is presented to us (well, in the first two books. ‘Mockingjay’ is another matter), it’s just that there are small things which for me feel incomplete, such as the actions and growth of secondary characters and the backstory away from Katniss’ viewpoint. The films get in those features for me, and I much prefer the film franchise to their book counterparts. Despite this, I did relatively enjoy ‘The Hunger Games’ and ‘Catching Fire’. I thought that ‘Mockingjay’ was a pathetically weak series ending, but that argument is for another day.

8. ‘The Mortal Instruments’ series by Cassandra Clare

COB_cover

Before this May, I was in a massive reading slump, where I had read barely any fiction besides school assignments for a couple of years. The purchase of a Nook tablet helped with that from Christmas time onwards, but I still wasn’t picking up many proper novels. It was ‘The Mortal Instruments’ that changed this for me. I was reluctant to read it, as I had previously read Cassandra Clare’s ‘Clockwork Angel’ from ‘The Infernal Devices’ trilogy, which I despised. However, my best friend convinced me to read ‘The Mortal Instruments’, as the first five were cheap on the Kindle store in anticipation of the final book. So I listened and read the series, and actually really loved it. I got attached to it in a way I hadn’t since ‘Harry Potter’, and I read all five in a week or so before preordering ‘City of Heavenly Fire’, ready to read on release date. Also, as I usually get into series after they have all been released, and I was too young to anticipate the release of ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’, It was the first time that I had experienced that wait for a final instalment (even if my wait was minimal). I got caught up in the theories, which I have to say was incredibly fun and equally nervewracking. thankfully, ‘City of Heavenly Fire’ did not disappoint, and became my favourite from the series.

9. ‘The Infernal Devices’ trilogy by Cassandra Clare

CA_cover

I do not hold back on my views on this trilogy – and I have already given it a bit of a slamming in the ‘Mortal Instruments’ comments – so I am going to refrain from mentioning too much about it. Long story short, I am never going to be a fan of this trilogy, and I have more negative points to say about it than positive, none of which are worth going into now.

10. The ‘Divergent’ trilogy by Veronica Roth

41c+-RM5SFL._

I do not like this trilogy. I do not like the concept, I do not like the journey the story takes, and most of all, I do not like Tris. At all. On the positive side, I do like Four, Caleb and Christina throughout, and I actually thought that the infamous ending of ‘Allegiant’ was the right thing to do, not because of my hatred of the character, but because it took risks that other books never take, and I welcomed it. My favourite of the trilogy was ‘Allegiant’, although the entire trilogy is eclipsed by ‘Four: a Divergent Collection’ (mainly due to a lack of Tris and a lot of Four, Zeke and Shauna). My least favourite by a mile is ‘Insurgent’ (review here).

There are also four series (or soon-to-be series) where I am up to date, having read all of the books that are published:

1. ‘The 100’ series by Kass Morgan

81h3qVr9hnL._SL1500_

I have read both ‘The 100’ (review here) and ‘Day 21‘, and immensely enjoyed both books. I am not intending to watch the TV show, as, having looked into it, I do not like the sound of the way it has been adapted. I am eagerly awaiting the release of ‘Homecoming’ next year.

2. The ‘Throne of Glass’ series by Sarah J. Maas

Throne_of_Glass_UK

This is quite possibly my favourite series at the moment. ‘Throne of Glass’ (review here) and ‘Crown of Midnight’ have both made it onto my ‘Favourite Books’ list. I was less fond of ‘The Assassin’s Blade’ and ‘Heir of Fire’, but there are three more books in this series, and I’m hoping it’ll be phenomenal. I can’t wait.

3. The ‘Magisterium’ series by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

20578940

I bought ‘The Iron Trial’ on its release date and I really liked it. There are so many comments that it is a rip-off of ‘Harry Potter’, but it is no more like ‘Harry Potter’ than any book with magical youths or boarding schools (which for the record is absolutely tonnes). I’m excited for the next books, and have been since the second I finished book one.

4. ‘The Young Elites’ trilogy by Marie Lu

This is my most recent read. Having started Marie Lu’s ‘Legend’ trilogy, I knew that the writing here would be fab. I love this book, and feel like there is a lot of potential for this trilogy to get a lot better. See my review for this book here.

This rounds up all of my completed and up-to-date series. Hopefully I can raise this number next year and break out of the habit of reading one book and then putting a series down.

Twitter @emmathereader

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr https://snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

