Book Reviews 2014 · Contemporary Books · Young Adult Book Reviews

‘Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares’ by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

I’ve left some clues for you.

If you want them, turn the page.

If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.

4 Stars

I really enjoyed this book, which I wasn’t expecting to, considering that I picked it up for £1 in a bargain bookstore. It was a light and easy read which really got me in the mood for Christmas (which was a problem as I read it in August!).

I have always enjoyed David Levithan’s books, but I wasn’t sure what to expect from Rachel Cohn. I preferred Levithan’s style of writing, however Cohn’s chapters were enjoyable as well. I just felt that Levithan’s writing flowed better, but this was due to personal preference, not incapability on any part. I’m sure there are many people who think the opposite.

Switching between Dash and Lily’s points of view was crucial for this story to carry across effectively. I preferred Dash as a character. He had more development throughout the course of the book than Lily; we start to see less of the snarly and moody attitude and more of the cute and caring guy more common of this kind of book. I feel that Lily stayed slightly immature and whiny throughout, and I had so much more time for Dash than for her. Despite this, I did not feel like Cohn’s chapters suffered, or were unenjoyable.

I had a great time reading this book, and couldn’t put it down. The story was well-conceived (come on, which book lover would not love to go on a challenge treasure hunt instructed to them by a mysterious book!), and I spent so long willing for Dash and Lily to meet. After their chaotic first meeting, my interest tailed off a smidgeon, mainly due to Lily’s attitude at this stage in the book, however I was very satisfied with the ending. Overall, this was definitely a worthwhile read, and one of the better contemporary cutesy-love-story books I have picked up (and usually cannot tolerate). I wish I had read it nearer Christmas, as opposed to in the middle of summer, as it would make the perfect seasonal read to get you geared up for the festive season.

Twitter @emmathereader

Tumblr https://snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Leave a Reply

