Book Reviews 2014 · Supernatural Books · Young Adult Book Reviews

‘Anna Dressed in Blood’ by Kendare Blake

Cas Lockwood has inherited an unusual vocation; he kills the dead.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual; track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.

4 Stars

I am a tad disappointed, if only because the first 200 pages of this book were a solid 5 stars, with the potential to be one of my favourite books of the season. However the last 150 pages dragged a considerable amount, and I became bored and more prone to putting the book down (I read it in a day, but I put it down 3 times during the final 150 pages), which docked a star from my rating.

The storyline is fabulous. It had the perfect amount of creepy in it to satisfy me; I read it in the build-up to Halloween, but I get easily spooked sometimes. This book creeped me out a bit, but not so much that I was put off from picking up the sequel, which I will be buying once my TBR pile has shrunk.

Cas was a perfectly satisfactory character. He was interesting to read about, didn’t seem too stupid and remained consistent as a person throughout. however, I do have to say that the characters in this book were nothing to rave about. Anna has a good back story, but in herself is not too exciting. Nobody else is particularly worthy of mention. If these character had truly been stand-out, I may have given this book an extra 0.5 stars.

Taking everything into account, I did not like this as much as ‘Say Her Name’ by James Dawson, my favourite creepy book of the year. I feel that ‘Say Her Name’ was superior in plot, characterisation and romance, and while it took me longer to read, I was more invested in it. However, ‘Anna Dressed in Blood’ freaked me out significantly less, which in my book is a good thing. It is a shame that the pace slowed down at the end, otherwise this could have been a reading highlight of this autumn for me.

Twitter @emmathereader

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr https://snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

