Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Top Couples

Hey all! It is Wednesday, and I have decided that it is about time that I started up some Top 5 Wednesday posts! I know that the ‘official’ challenge for this week is ‘Top Five Rebellion Groups’, but I have a feeling that I would struggle with that topic, and wanted to choose a nice one for my first Top 5 Wednesday post. Hence, I have resorted back to last week’s theme of ‘Top Five Favourite Couples’, not that I actually found this topic any easier! I have also limited it to only one couple per book, which only made it even more challenging. So here goes!

Quick bit of info: Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at GingerReadsLainey (https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey), and the full list of Top 5 Wednesday bloggers and vloggers can be found on Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1608567-complete-list-of-wednesday-ers).

Top Five Favourite Couples

*May Contain Mild Spoilers*

5. Rosie and Alex, ‘Where Rainbows End’ by Cecelia Ahern

This is a recent read for me, and I have to say that I found this relationship to be incredibly sweet. Almost the entire book is centred around a ‘will-they?-won’t-they?’ involving this pair, and I thought that the two of them were the perfect match. We are all familiar with cases where long-term friendship spirals into something more romantic, and I think that made me love them even more; it is a pairing which a lot of people can relate to. Reading the book and knowing that they make the perfect couple – but they cannot see it – causes the perfect mix of annoyance, cuteness and scream-at-the-page obviousness, which in my eyes makes Rosie and Alex a brilliant couple. On a separate note, I need to see Lily Collins and Sam Claflin play these characters in the film adaptation ‘Love, Rosie’. Really should’ve seen that by now.

4. Ruby and Liam, ‘The Darkest Minds’ by Alexandra Bracken

Ruby and Liam are that couple for me that just work – no explanation needed (we all have one!). The interactions between the pair of them always serve to make me laugh, smile or cry. The end of ‘The Darkest Minds’ (if you’ve read it, you’ll know what I mean!) left me crying in a way that a book rarely does, and this pair’s relationship really cemented the series’ place on my favourite reads list. I could honestly read about these two for hours.

3. Ron and Hermione, ‘Harry Potter’ by J.K. Rowling

As ‘Harry Potter’ will always have a special place in my heart, it is unsurprising that there is a couple from this series on this list. There are a lot of ‘Harry Potter’ couples that I adore (I’m not even going to go into that), but Ron and Hermione were my first favourite couple of any book. From the very beginning, they had a mutual dislike for each other, and they went through many phases of hate, love and friendship during the series. Ron and Hermione will always be a stand-out favourite couple for me as the pair go on an immense journey in order to establish their feelings, and even though you could tell they were meant to be from early on, there was none of the ‘insta-love’ we see all the time now (and the Potterhead in me will find a way of fitting a ‘Harry Potter’ aspect into everything!).

2. Celaena and Chaol, ‘Throne of Glass’ by Sarah J. Maas

‘Throne of Glass’ is a book series which is still incomplete, and Celaena does seem to have her fair share of love interests, but for me, Celaena and Chaol will always be the stand out couple in this series, not just as I hate Dorian and especially Rowan, but as I think that the pair have chemistry which I feel is lacking in a lot of couples in YA literature. There are a lot of hurdles in their relationship, which I think only serves to make it a stronger pairing. Obviously as there are still three more books in this series, their relationship could still go anywhere, but I think (and hope) that the barriers they have to face will be overcome, and that the pair can return to the place they were in in ‘Crown of Midnight’.

1. Alec and Magnus, ‘The Mortal Instruments’ by Cassandra Clare

Up until earlier this year, I seemed to be in a massive reading slump, until I was told that I should pick up ‘The Mortal Instruments’. I believe that the strongest part of Cassandra Clare’s writing is her characterisation, and it was the characters that she created which made me invest so much in the series. Out of these characters, I immediately took to Alec and Magnus, both individually and as a couple. Obviously the first thing that most people will pick up where these two are concerned is the fact that they are a gay couple. I’m not going to deny that it was one of the first things I picked up too, if only because they are the first gay couple I can remember reading about. Putting that to the side, these two are my favourite couple as I can identify so well with their problems, which they fight through together regardless of how difficult things get. And the line “I don’t want the world, I want you” (‘City of Heavenly Fire’) will stick with me for a very long time. They are by no means a perfect couple, and they probably spend just as much of the series fighting as they do together as they do apart, but I think that is part of the reason I love them so much; couples are never perfect. They show some of the real issues that people would face in a relationship – trust issues, uncertainty of feelings, social perception – and conquer them at the end of the day, and I love reading about them.

This concludes my favourite couples, and my first Top 5 Wednesday.

 Twitter @emmathreader

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/snapeisourprince

Tumblr https://snapeisourprince.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

